Ranking the 2016 Comic Book movies

2016-comic-book-moviesHello interweb, Nate here!  So today was suppose to be the Top 5 DC Comics of 2016, but I’ve been busy and I’m not fully caught up with all the DC comics I’m reading currently.  Therefore, I decided to do the comic book movies first and instead of a Top 5 list why don’t I just simply rank them?  After all, there were six movies so why not?

Rulez

  • Ranking them from my least favorite movie to my favorite movie of 2016
  • MCU, DCEU, and Fox’s X-Men universe only
  • Live action movies only
  • I will be linking each movie to my reviews of them

 

#6 – X-Men: Apocalypse

X-Men Apocalypse Poster

This film probably wasn’t just the worst comic book film of 2016 but the most offensive to me.  Now maybe that’s because I’m such a huge X-Men fan that I get more upset at a bad X-Men film then I would if this was a Fantastic Four film or an Iron Man film, but regardless I hated this movie.  Imagine the X-Men comics but take out all the fun and joy, take out all the complexity in its characters, and throw in a confusing continuity to boot!  Well okay granted the X-Men comic book continuity is one of the most confusing continuities out there, but part of why people love comic book movies is because they don’t have confusing continuity!  Apocalypse had potential as a villain but just had undefined powers, the X-Men themselves had weak characterizations, and the four horsemen did practically nothing other than standing around Apocalypse awkwardly.  If you’re a casual X-Men fan that just wanted some action then maybe this is the film for you, but if you’re as big of a fan as me then I’d suggest you avoid this film like it was the plague.

 

#5 – Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice

Batman V Superman

Now I feel like I’m way too kind to this film because I recognize the glaring flaws in it but I still like it.  I liked watching the Doomsday fight at the end (even though Doomsday didn’t make any sense), I liked Wonder Woman fighting along side Batman and Superman, I liked watching the universe building and the character development.  However, comma, Lex Luthor lacked any strong motivation, Superman did nothing but brood the entire film up to the climax (I thought that was Batman’s job!), Flash’s cameo made no sense and completely interrupted the film, the runtime was a tad too long, Doomsday made no sense, and there are plot holes large enough to fit all the debris in Metropolis in and still have room.  So with all these glaring flaws, why do I forgive it so much?  I don’t know, to be honest.  Maybe I just want it to be good so I ignore these flaws, maybe the things I liked about it overshadows the things I dislike about it in my head, or maybe I’m just hoping that this trainwreck of a cinematic universe manages to pull itself together.  Either way, I liked it even though I feel like I shouldn’t.

 

#4 – Suicide Squad

Suicide Squad

Now Suicide Squad, compared to Batman V Superman and Man of Steel, is a masterpiece of a movie!  Compared to every movie the MCU makes, it’s just mediocre.  I think that’s why I love it so much, though.  It’s a genuinely enjoyable movie and minus a few minor nitpicks here and there I really thought it was well done.  I didn’t like the Joker/Harley relationship they’re making right now (heck I dedicated three whole paragraphs about their relationship in my review), but Margot Robbie did a great job with Harley’s character.  And the character interactions were funny and entertaining to watch!  I honestly don’t know why people hate it so much.  Some complaints is that the villain is too two-dimensional but most of Marvel’s villains are so I don’t get why that’s a problem.  The humor has been criticized as being forced but I laughed my butt off with some of those jokes.  Really my only huge complaint is the Joker/Harley relationship, otherwise I loved it!  Also: Jared Leto sucks as Joker.

 

#3 – Doctor Strange

doctor-strange-poster

Now this movie actually got me interested enough to read the current Doctor Strange run and now I have mixed feelings about this film.  On one hand, I loved the visuals and it’s a Marvel movie so how could the humor and story not be good?  On the other hand, the comics are just so much more bizarre and – dare I say it – strange that I kind of want some of that in the film.  I’m not sure whether they didn’t include the weirdness of the comics because of budgetary reasons (though I doubt it) or if they just wanted to appeal to a larger audience (the more likely explanation).  I mean in the first story arc, a girl shows up at Steven Strange’s house with a mouth on her head that was spewing demons out, and the weirdest it gets in the film is just the trippy Inception visuals with the buildings.  When we have films like the Harry Potter movies and Ms. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I feel like an MCU movie with those bizarre elements would’ve beeb really cool to see and hopefully they’ll add it in future Doctor Strange movies.  But for now, this is a really good movie despite my complaints and I would highly recomend seeing it in theaters in 3D before it’s too late.

 

#2 – Captain America: Civil War

Captain America Civil War Poster II

The film that broke every fanboy and fangirl’s heart and inspired Tumblr to create the #GiveCaptainAmericaABoyfriend hashtag, we get Captain America: Civil War!  The final film in the Captain America trilogy!  Was it good?  Um, yeah!  It was amazing!  The heart-breaking fights between these characters we’ve grown to love really pulls on your heart strings and the final battle between Bucky and Steve vs Tony was just hard to watch.  Plus we got great new characters with Spider-man and Black Panther and Ant-Man becoming Giant-Man was amazing!  If it wasn’t for the next film on the list, this film would’ve easily made it to my number #1 spot and is probably my current favorite movie in the MCU thus far!  All I’m gonna say is that if you haven’t seen the film yet (which in that case, why you waiting so long?) bring tissues!

 

#1 – Deadpool

deadpool-poster

The chimichanga loving, vulgarity spewing, witty merc with the mouth: Deadpool!  Deadpool has been my favorite comic book character for quite some time now and this film nails it!  The story is cliched but you’re not there for the story!  You’re there for Deadpool!  This is probably the funniest superhero movie I’ve ever seen (and the most inappropriate) and I can’t wait for Cable to show up in the sequel!  There’s not even that much to say other then: chimichanga!  #DriveBy

 

So that’s my ranking for all the 2016 comic book movies!  You agree or disagree?  Comment below with how you’d rank them!  And a merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

 

4 comments

  1. I literally laughed out loud when you said “there are plot holes large enough to fit all the debris in Metropolis in and still have room.” So funny! I agree with your list. Merry Christmas to you too!

  2. Cool list! I always enjoy reading those and seeing where everything stacks up. From those 6 I’d rank them

    6. Deadpool

    5. Suicide Squad

    4. X-Men Apocalypse

    3. Doctor Strange

    2. Captain America: Civil War

    1. Batman V Superman

Leave a Reply

