My Top 10 Favorite Superhero Teams

Hello interweb, Nate here!  So here’s another top 10 list!  This time: superhero teams!  If you’re familiar with my blog, number #1 shouldn’t surprise you; but how about the rest?  Let’s just jump into it and find out!

To see my other Top 10s (or 5s) click here.

Rulez

  • A superhero team is defined as a group of three or more superheroes.
  • Must derive from a comic book

#10 – The Legion of Superheroes

I’ve never read the LoSH comics before, but I really enjoyed the cartoon.  The group is a team of superheroes from far off in the future long after the Justice League, probably further off in the future then Batman Beyond assuming they share a universe.  The fun part about it is that we had characters like Superman, Lightning Lad, Saturn Girl, and Brainiac 5 that all had cool powers at their disposal.  But we also had quite a few oddball superheroes light Bouncing Boy, Matter-Eater Lad, and Color Kid with seemingly useless abilities.  Bouncing Boy was even the team’s leader at one point!  The roster expanded in season 2 so we had even more fun characters to work with.  An interesting team with a fun little cartoon that you can finish over the weekend if you have nothing better to do!

#9 – The Guardians of the Galaxy

The Guardians of the Galaxy is a team that I wish I had more exposure to.  Outside the first movie, I’ve only read the cross overs with the All-New X-Men comics such as “The Trials of Jean Grey” and “The Black Vortex”.  But I think the idea of an Avengers team in space is pretty fun and lead to some really cool characters.  Hell, they have a Talking Raccoon and an anthropomorphic tree!  That’s awesome!

#8 – The Avengers

Yeah I realize that the Avengers is pretty low on this list, but I still really like them!  My biggest problem with the Avengers is that their stories are very action centered rather than character centered.  Now that’s not bad necessarily, it’s just I prefer reading comics for the characters rather than the action.  The action should fuel the character arcs and the Avengers usually just contain villain after villain after villain.  Sometimes characters change, like Ant-man leaving the Avengers after creating Ultron, but usually they just assemble when trouble arises.

#7 – X-Force

When I say “X-Force” I’m primarily talking about Rick Remender’s run on Uncanny X-Force specifically.  Remender was one of Marvel’s best writers when this comic was being made and it’s one of my favorites to this day.  The X-Force is basically an X-Men black ops team that’s willing to kill.  Lead by Wolverine and containing characters like Deadpool and Archangel, this is a run I’d highly recommend to those looking for something new.  There’s even some great dark humor in this series and it doesn’t just come from Deadpool.

#6 – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is a rather odd team simply because the concept itself is so bizarre.  My favorite incarnation is the gritty reboot back in the early 2000s simply because that’s the one I grew up with.  I recently rewatched some of those episodes and I still enjoy them.  Michaelangelo has always been my favorite but the other turtles are important to any good story and watching their personalities bounce off each other is always fun to see.

#5 – All-New, All-Different Avengers

Yes, the All-New, All-Different Avengers beats out the classic Avengers.  Why?  Well, because this is actually the kind of comic I love reading!  The stories actually tend to focus on the teenage heroes more and those are the characters I’ve really fallen in love with the most.  G Willow Wilson’s been doing great stories with Ms. Mavel’s character and Brian Michae Bendis tends to write Spider-man very well.  And seeing them interract with each other in this comic as they’re being mentored by older Avengers is just a really cool thing to read.  While I’ve never cared much for Nova, his inclusion to the trio adds some fun moments too.

#4 – Justice League

If you were to go back to the early 2000s and told a comic book fan that the Avengers would get a movie before the Justice League, they’d laugh.  The Justice League is just more legendary as a superhero team than the Avengers and just have more glory to them.  The biggest difference between the two teams in my eyes is that I don’t think there’s a single founding member of the Justice League that I don’t like while the Avengers consist of really cool characters and just really meh characters.  Hell, just compare the Bruce Timm Justice League cartoons to the Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.  While I think the upcoming movie will probably harm the team’s credit rather then help it, I’ve always felt like the Justice League deserved a movie before the Avengers ever did and a good one at that.  Plus there’s just so many good Justice League stories to list off that are signficantly better then any Avengers stories like Kingdom Come and The Final Fronteir.

#3 – Young Avengers

When I heard that there was a superhero team consisting of mostly LGBT superheroes I sought the comics out ASAP.  Billy and Teddy remains one of my favorite couples in comics and the Young Avengers team has had consistently well-written characters since it’s inception.  Hulkling, Wicca, Kate Bishop as Hawkeye, Speed, etc.  I’ve read their stories over and over again and I love it every time.

#2 – Teen Titans

The Teen Titans animated series was one of my first exposure to DC and Marvel in general growing up as a kid.  While the original cartoon series was top notch, the comics are much better with better writing and characters.  Even reading the current Titans run reminds me why the team is as amazing as it is since the characters have so much history and act so much like a family more than anything.  The bond that they all share shows how well these characters can be written and why comics long standing history is so unique.

#1 – X-Men

The team that got me into comics to begin with: the X-Men.  I’ve told this story before, but the comic cartoon that really caused me to seek out comics was the show X-Men: Evolution.  The idea that you could be persecuted for something you have no control over really stuck a cord with me the first time I watched an X-Men story played it and to this day I feel like the team has some of the best writing in all of comics.  The movies may suck, but the comics consist of some great character moments and three-dimensional relationships with the team as a whole.

And that’s my list!  Thanks for reading!  Next time I’m going to do: Everything Wrong With The Dark Knight Returns

6 comments

  1. Pretty solid list. The Justice League would definitely be my pick for number 1. Granted, this isn’t counting anime, so I’m just sticking to Western. Off the top of my head I’d go with

    1. Justice League
    2. Teen Titans
    3. Super Friends
    4. Avengers
    5. The Outsiders
    6. Fantastic Four
    7. New Avengers
    8. Justice League International
    9. Justice League Dark
    10. Excalibur

      1. Yeah so I was a little dubious about adding it. It definitely blurs the line a bit, but the roster was fairly different so I figured that I may as well throw it in

Leave a Reply

