Batman V Superman Trailer #2 Review and Explained

Warning:  All of what I’m about to say may very well be me speculating and theorizing.  So if I say something that contradicts something that is revealed later than that is why.  Also just to be on the safe side I’m just going to say there are possible spoilers below but I highly doubt there’s anything that will ruin the movie if I mention it.

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So as most of you know by now, Batman V Superman has its second trailer released for public viewing and since I already did the teaser trailer and the first official trailer, I can’t just not do this trailer, right?  So let’s go over this monster!

Really there isn’t a lot to talk about the first third of this trailer as it’s just Clark Kent meeting Bruce Wayne for the first time (0:00-1:04).  Of course we see more of Clark not liking Batman for his violent vigilantism and Bruce Wayne not liking Superman due to his immense amount of power, but I feel like they already showed this in the first trailer so this isn’t really new.  Although it is funny how both characters can be seen as scary but whose scarier?  Batman seems to be a bit more violent and yet he doesn’t have any superhuman abilities, while Superman seems to be more peaceful and yet he’s so powerful that we can’t really stop him if he goes rogue.  I do wonder if Bruce already knows that Clark is Superman since Batman is the world’s greatest detective.  I do like that nod to Joker that was also meant as an insult towards Superman.

Now I guess we see more of Jesse Eisenberg’s performance as Lex Luthor but honestly I’m not a fan (1:04-1:17).  He’s too energetic to be Lex.  I don’t mind the hair as he’ll probably (hopefully) go bald by the kryptonite shown in the first trailer, but Lex is suppose to be a lot more calm than this.  People are comparing his personality to Joker but honestly Joker is a bit more psychotic and sadistic.  Honestly he reminds me more of how I’d imagine Riddler.  Although I do find his comment towards Clark funny when he says that people shouldn’t pick a fight with him.

The scene at 1:19-1:21 is actually pretty interesting as DC released a small 50-second clip that hints towards it being a nightmare.  So whatever this is is being theorized to be Batman’s nightmare of Superman.  I don’t know why but this scene is broken throughout this trailer so I’ll come back to it when it comes up again as there’s something in it that I want to comment on.

This scene where Superman visits the senator also appeared in the first trailer so I won’t talk too much here (1:21-1:25).  Basically Superman’s probably going to show up to deal with the events in Man of Steel where he and Zod basically 9/11-ed Metropolis.  Again, this just plays into the fact that Superman has too much power so he’s a pretty scary dude.

The Batcave appears briefly at 1:29.  I don’t think I gave my thoughts on it yet so let me fix that by talking about it here.  Honestly, I’d have to see more of it.  From this angle it looks less like a cave and more like an underground pool or something.  I’m fine with it so far but I do hope that it looks like a room built into a cave.  So long as a cave is shown I’m happy.  It’s a Batcave after all, not Batman’s man cave or whatever people call those things.

This scene is just adding to why Batman dislikes Superman but it also adds something beyond “Superman’s too powerful” (1:30-1:36).  Zod did come for Superman in Man of Steel so it is partially Superman’s fault that Zod showed up.  So it makes sense that Batman would want to protect people from a war that they weren’t a part of until Superman showed up.

Now we get to see more of Superman and Batman’s fight (1:37-1:51)!  This stand off at 1:37 just looks super bad@$$.  Of course we see Batman in his Frank Miller inspired armor that’s suppose to protect him from Superman.  Considering that you can hear Alfred’s voice (I think it’s Alfred) saying “You know you can’t win this” and “it’s suicide” I bet it’s safe to conclude that even Alfred doubts Batman’s abilities to defeat Superman.  I do like Batman’s jet appearing at 1:41 and you can see him shooting down Superman at 1:43-1:47 to no avail.

This moment between Lex Luthor and Lois Lane is pretty interesting (1:51-1:56).  I’m not a fan of Lex’s energetic personality shown in this trailer but Lex has always had a big ego so I like how this kinda shows that.  Although it seems like Lex wants them to fight just because he thinks it would be fun to watch.  I don’t really know how I feel about that.  I’m pretty sure Lex is like the smartest being in the DC universe or at least one of the smartest so I hope they show more of that in the movie.

Darkseid and his Parademons (Note: this is from animated movie Justice League: War not a comic)

Darkseid and his Parademons(Note: this is from animated the movie “Justice League: War” not a comic)

You can see more of the nightmare scene at 2:01.  The things flying in the background kinda reminds me of Darkseid’s parademons which could indicate a future appearance.  The biggest problem with that theory though is that if this is a dream than how would Batman know about the Darkseid or his parademons this earlier in the DCEU continuity?  Or since it’s a nightmare it could just be some sort of random dream monster.

At 2:02-2:05, Superman says “Stay down!  If I wanted it, you’d be dead already”.  When I watch YouTube reactions to this trailer I notice people reply with “true” but honestly I don’t know.  I feel like Batman would’ve came up with some type of strategy ahead of time for this face off so it would be pretty disappointing if Batman just expected Superman to not kill him.  I mean yeah this is Superman where talking about, but he did kill Zod in Man of Steel and this is their first face off so Batman probably wouldn’t take any chances.

And probably the most important part of the nightmare scene at 2:03-2:06.  If this is a nightmare than it would make sense considering that Superman just unmasked him like that and Bruce would probably be worried of that.  If this isn’t a nightmare and this is real than it doesn’t make sense to me.  Like where would the scene go from there where Bruce makes it back to prepare for the fight?  I do expect them both to be unmasked by each other by the end of the movie but I kinda hope that they do it where Superman uses his X-Ray vision on Batman and Batman just uses his detective skills to unmask Superman.  That’s the way they did it in the DCAU episode “World’s Finest” and the animated movie Justice League: War (he might’ve done it in the Justice League: Origins graphic novel but I can’t remember).  Of course it won’t ruin the movie if they take an alternate route but I just kinda want them to do it that way.

So here’s probably the biggest reveal of the entire trailer that people are so hyped about.  Let’s discuss 2:05-2:19 first before we go to talk about Doomsday real quick.  Ever sense the first trailer, a lot of people theorized that Lex was going to take Zod’s body and turn him into Doomsday due to the fact that we saw Zod in a body bag in the first trailer.  I remember seeing this but I never commented on it.  I guess it’s because I really didn’t think Zod was going to effect the film.  Of course this trailer seems to prove me wrong.  I don’t really know how most people are responding to this revelation (whether positive or negative) but I actually do like this change in origin.  In the comics, Doomsday was created by a scientist who wanted to create a being that can survive any environmental conditions.  The result was whenever Doomsday dies, he revives himself and evolves to become immune to whatever killed him.  This makes him super powerful and practically unbeatable.  That origin wasn’t given until after his debut in Death of Superman where he was just a big boring monster than fought Superman with his immense strength before “killing” Superman.  Although the biggest problem with Doomsday is that he’s boring.  He’s just a giant monster that is strong enough to give Superman a run for his money.  At least this film seems to be making Doomsday a bit more interesting since he was created using Zod’s body and by Lex Luthor in order to make Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman team up.  I do like Lex’s line 2:08-2:14 “If man won’t kill god, the devil will do it!”  with “god” referring to Superman and “devil” wither referring to either Doomsday or Lex Luthor (I can’t really tell).

Give Doomsday more bones!

Give Doomsday more bones!

And the conclusion of the trailer where we see Doomsday and the Trinity forms (2:19-2:26).  You can see Doomsday more clearly at 2:24 and it’s not a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it moment so you can get a clear view on what he looks like.  I’m personally not a big Doomsday fan (as I mentioned in the previous paragraph), but I do wish he had a bit more bones sticking out.  Yeah he has a few bones sticking out of his shoulders and around his eyes but I do think he’d look cooler with more bones.  It’s interesting that he has heat vision (very powerful heat vision I might add) as seen at 2:26-2:33 since Doomsday is normally just shown with extremely high level strength but Doomsday has developed a fire breath that he used on Martian Manhunter once.  So it’s not that ridiculous that he has it here, especially since he came from Zod.  I just don’t want him to fly (and based on the fact that he jumped out of the building and slid through that debris I don’t think he will).

Batman and Superman is muscular, why isn't Wonder Woman?

Batman and Superman is muscular, why isn’t Wonder Woman?

Also, Wonder Woman randomly appears at 2:33!  I’m just going to say it here, I don’t like Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman.  Film is a visual medium so I should be able to look at Gal Gadot and think “Yep, that’s Wonder Woman!”.  The problem is that I don’t.  She’s just not muscular enough for me and she reminds me less of an Amazon warrior and more of a fashion model dressing up as Wonder Woman.  I do like the ending shot though with the Trinity getting ready for the fight.  I also like Superman and Batman’s exchange here as it shows that there will be a bit more fun in this than Man of Steel.

That concludes my response to the second Batman V Superman trailer!  Overall I think we now know how the movie’s going to play out now.  Batman doesn’t like Superman’s power and what he did in Man of Steel and Superman doesn’t like how violent Batman is.  So they show up and fight with Lex Luthor egging the two on.  Than Lex Luthor creates Doomsday from Zod’s body and Wonder Woman shows up to help them take Doomsday down.  The only thing that confuses me is that this is suppose to be a Justice League prequel but we’ve yet to hear about Aquaman, Flash, Green Lantern, and Cyborg’s role in the movie and with how crowded the film looks so far I don’t know how they’re going to fit in.  Maybe little name drops and cameos are going to occur and then they’ll show up in the middle of the battle with Doomsday?  Or maybe I misunderstood and the Justice League isn’t forming until the first Justice League movie?  That feels kind of odd to me as that’s kinda like if Marvel made a movie featuring Thor, Captain America, and Iron Man before doing Avengers.  Than again, DC does tend to emphasize Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman as the DC trinity more than Marvel who kind of has a more understood but never spoken out loud trinity with Thor, Cap, and Iron Man.  You can’t do Justice League without Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman, and you can’t do Avengers without Thor, Iron Man, and Captain America.

 

End Poll

So what are your guys thoughts on Doomsday in the movie?  Love the changes?  Hate the changes?  Let me now!

 

Other Posts to check out

Girl-On-Comicbook-World‘s Batman V Superman Trailer 2 Analysis: Enter Doomsday

2 comments

  1. I think that DC is trying to bring out all the big guns to make the movie go into overdrive. This was one of the problems with Spider-man 3, having too many villains and story lines. I mean in Dawn of Justice they have: Batman v. Superman, Luther, Doomsday, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, and baggage from Joker. I think that it will be just too much.

    For Doomsday, I think that it is good to finally see him on the big screen, just . . . not when it is a Superman AGAINST Batman. Doomsday should have his own against Superman, not thrown into the mix.

    1. I see what you mean but I disagree with a lot of what you just said. Personally I don’t find it to overcrowded as everything seems to fit perfectly. Batman and Superman doesn’t like each other, Lex Luthor eggs the fight on, for some reason Lex decides to create Doomsday to face them, Wonder Woman shows up, and action insues. The fight between Batman and Superman will definitely take up a big chunk of the movie but I doubt they’ll ever have one character defeat the other.

      The problem I see with Doomsday being the main villain of a movie is that a main villain is suppose to be interesting and Doomsday’s just not. He’s just a big dumb monster that beat Superman up that one time. Personally having Lex make Doomsday simply for the sake of trying to defeat Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman is really all you need out of him. Someone have suggested to me that maybe Doomsday will be defeated here but come back more evolved and have more bones and that’s when he’ll “kill” Superman but honestly I hope not. Besides there’s a ton of Superman villains that could potentially show up in a future Man of Steel sequal much more interesting than Doomsday: Parasite, Metallo, Brainiac, Darkseid, etc.

Leave a Reply

