My Opinion On All-New All-Different Marvel

All-New All-Different Marvel II

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So there has been a lot of comic book news after Secret Wars and Convergence and due to how busy my schedule has been recently I have not been talking about them much on this blog.  However, I decided to take a little brake to go over the titles going on in All-New All-Different Marvel and giving my opinions on the titles coming out.  I’m just going over the list located on All-New All-Different Marvel’s Wikipedia page so if you want top see the list for yourself than just click on the link.  Because their list is in alphabetical order I’m literally just going to go through the titles in alphabetical order as well so that would make things easier if you just want to know my opinions on specific titles.    With that said, let’s jump in!

A-Force (Vol. 2)

A-Force Vol 2 1

Writer: G. Willow Wilson

Artist: Jorge Molina

Based on what I understand of this title, this is a direct continuation of the first run of A-Force written by Marguerite Bennett but I have not read the first run so I don’t really have much of an opinion on it.  I think A-Force is an all women team lead by She-Hulk so it sounds pretty interesting.  G. Willow Wilson, whose taking over this title, also writes Ms. Marvel and I enjoyed the first trade of the first run of Ms. Marvel so I know that she’s a good writer and will probably do well with this title but I’m not planning on reading so take of that as you will.

 

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Writer: Marc Guggenheim

I think this is just a comic book adaptation of the TV show by the same name but it is not in that universe it is in the Earth-616 universe.  With that said, I’ve tried to watch the show but it just didn’t interest me so since I’m not a fan of the show I’m not going to spend my money on this comic.  If you like the show than check this title out but it’s not for me.

 

All-New, All-Different Avengers

All-New All-Different Avengers vol 1 1

Writer: Mark Waid

Artists: Mahmud Asrar and Adam Kubert

I gave some of my thoughts on this title during the Free Comic Book Day reviews so you can click on that link to see what I had to say there.  This is basically the Avengers but instead of the usual roster we have (in order of the cover clockwise): Jane Foster/Thor, Sam Wilson/Captain America, Iron Man, Sam Alexander/Nova, Miles Morales/Spider-man, Kamala Khan/Ms. Marvel, and Vision.  I kinda feel like Thor, Captain America, and Iron Man is sort of like the Avenger’s version of the Justice League trinity (Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman) as you basically never see the main Avengers team without those three characters.  The catch is that Thor isn’t Odinson, Captain America isn’t Steve Rodgers, and Iron Man isn’t Tony Stark (although I don’t think we know who Iron Man is right now).  I’ll go over why these character’s alter-egos aren’t the once we’re used to when we hit their individual titles but for now I’m actually really excited for this title and I think I’m going to check it out.  With Mark Waid as the writer I don’t see this comic as going downhill and it’s just so different from what we’re used to that you can’t help but check it out out of curiosity.

 

All-New Hawkeye (Vol. 2)

All-New Hawkeye Vol 2 1

Writer: Jeff Lemire

Artist: Ramon Perez

This title I’m really not too hyped about.  Apparently it’s going to revolve around Kate Bishop and how she and Clint Barton is basically playing the same character.  I never really cared for either characters so I don’t really care about this title.

 

All-New Inhumans

All-New Inhumans Vol 1 1

Writers: Charles Soule and James Asmus

Artist: Stefano Caselli

It seems to me that Marvel is trying to push their Inumans more into the spotlight and since I haven’t really read Inhumans before (unless you count Ms. Marvel) maybe I’ll check this title out.  Charles Soule wrote the New 52 Superman/Wonder Woman title, if I remember right, and I enjoyed that title so this comic should be pretty interesting to check out.

 

All-New Wolverine

All-New Wolverine Vol 1 1

Writers: Tom Taylor and James Asmus

Artist: David Lopez

Based on the creative team, I’m not 100% sure if this title is gonna be awesome or not since I don’t think I’ve read any of their work but I am super excited about this title nonetheless.  The comic is going to be centered around X-23 taking up Logan’s role as Wolverine (haha, my favorite X-Man taking the role of my least favorite X-Man) so I am curious on how that will turn out.

 

All-New X-Men (Vol. 2)

All-New X-Men Vol 2 1 II

Writer: Dennis Hopeless

Artist: Mark Bagley

I’m actually surprisingly not to excited about this title.  I’ve read the first two trades of the first run of All-New X-Men and while I did want to continue I just haven’t gotten the chance to continue reading it and while the concept of the time-displaced X-Men from the past being in the present is interesting, I’m not too interested in where this run seems to be going.  Also, why isn’t Brian Michael Bendis continuing this title?  He’s one of my favorite Marvel writers as his work on Ultimate Spider-man and the earlier issues of Marvel Now’s X-Men titles where really good so I’m kinda disappointing that he’s not working on this title.

 

The Amazing Spider-Man (Vol. 4)

The Amazing Spider-man Vol 4 1

Writer: Dan Slott

Artist: Giuseppe Camuncoli

Yeah, I’m avoiding this title all together.  I like Spider-man but Dan Slott has not only been writing Spider-man for way too long but in my personal opinion he’s not really that good at writing Spider-man.  The only Spider-man related thing I liked of his was Superior Spider-man and that wasn’t even Peter Parker.  On top of that, this title is turning Spider-man into Batman!  No seriously, Peter Parker now owns an entire industry and Spider-man has a Spider-mobile.  Why does Spider-man, wall-crawling, web-swinging Spider-man, need a Spider-mobile?!?!?!  On top of that, what’s up with the glowing bits on his new suit?  Yeah, don’t like this title at all and I haven’t even read it.  At this point, Miles Morales is the only good Spider-man right now so if I’m reading Spider-man than Miles Morales is going to be it.  Moving on!

 

Angela: Queen of Hel

Angela Queen of Hel Vol 1 1

Writer: Marguerite Bennett

Artists: Kim Jacinto and Stephanie Hans

Don’t know much about Angela, don’t know what this title’s gonna be about, and I don’t really care either way.  Moving on.

 

Astonishing Ant-Man

Astonishing Ant-Man

Writer: Nick Spencer

Artist: Ramon Rosanas

I think Nick Spender wrote the last Ant-Man title and I hear that that was a good run on the character but I didn’t read it so I have no opinions on it personally.  It’s just Scott Lang as Ant-Man and this continues off from the last run so if you read the last run and liked it than you’ll enjoy this title.  If not, than pick it up only if you really wanna read Ant-Man.

 

Black Knight (Vol. 4)

Black Knight Vol 4 1

Writer: Frank Tieri

Artist: Luca Pizzari

Uh… … …I don’t know who Black Knight is so I don’t really care…

 

Black Panther (Vol. 6)

Black Panther Vol 6 1

Writer: Ta-Nehisi Coates

Artist: Brian Stelfreeze

Been a while sense I’ve seen a Black Panther title so it’ll be interesting to see.  Although while I like the character, there’s nothing about this title that really catches my eye so I’ll probably spend my money somewhere else.

 

Black Widow (Vol. 6)

Black Widow Vol 6 1

Writer: Mark Waid

Artist: Chris Samnee

The only thing that really catches my eye about this run is the creative team behind it since they did Marvel Now’s DareDevil and I liked that title.  Other than that, I’m not the biggest Black Widow fan so I doubt that I’ll be picking this up but it probably will do quite well since Black Widow is the Marvel superheroine right now thanks to the movies.  Which is kinda funny because I feel like Captain Marvel, Spider-woman, She-Hulk, and Wasp all deserve to have more recognition in my opinion since they’ve done more stuff throughout Marvel Comics.  However, Black Widow is still a bad@$$ and is currently Marvel’s most popular heroine so I doubt that this title is going to flop, especially with Waid behind the wheel.

 

Blade (Vol. 7)

Blade Vol 7 1

Writer: Tim Seeley

Artist: Logan Faerber

Blade’s a female now, for some random reason, and I really don’t care.  I’ve never actually have read Blade and I don’t know much about him but the concept around him is pretty interesting so I would be open to reading his comics.  But if it isn’t the Blade that we know than I’m not buying it.  Why would I read a gender-bent Blade when I don’t even really know the actual Blade well?

 

Captain America: Sam Wilson

Captain America Sam Wilson Vol 1 1

Writer: Nick Spencer

Artist: Daniel Acuña

For those of you who’s curious about why Steve Rogers isn’t Captain America anymore and why Sam Wilson, previously called Falcon, is taking up the role: Steve Rodgers super-soldier serum has ran out causing him to age rapidly.  Because he is no longer fit to be Captain America, Sam Wilson took up the role for him.  The main reason Marvel is doing this is to fix the diversity problem in comics by making Captain America Black.  The only problem I see with this is that Falcon was already Black so how is that increasing diversity by getting rid of a Black superhero just for that superhero to replace a White superhero?  Doesn’t make much sense to me and I feel like Marvel should just create some more Black superheroes (or any non-White superheroes really).  Heck, make a team of superheroes where non of them is white.  The Young Avengers was at one point 100% LGBT (well, that’s debatable on Kate Bishop), so why not make a completely non-white team full of new characters?  Anyways, not too hyped about this title so moving on.

 

Captain Marvel (Vol. 9)

Captain Marvel Vol 9 1

Writers: Tara Butters and Michele Fazekas

Artist: Kris Anka

Don’t remember the in-story reason why but Carol Danvers haven’t been Ms. Marvel for a while and now goes by Captain Marvel (in real life, I’m pretty sure this is just to prevent DC from calling Shazam Captain Marvel).  Don’t see anything specifically that should catch my eye so let’s just keep going.

 

Carnage (Vol. 2)

Carnage Vol 2 1

Writer: Gerry Conway

Artist: Mike Perkins

And now we have a Carnage title!  Because…reasons.  Yeah, I don’t know why this exists.  Maybe Gerry Conway can do an interesting story with him but I really don’t care.  If it was a Venom title instead than maybe I’d be more interested but I just don’t care for Carnage.

 

Contest of Champions

Contest of Champions

Writer: Al Ewing

Artist: Paco Medina

I’m pretty sure this us going to be an adaptation of the video game but I never played the video game so I don’t care.

 

Daredevil (Vol. 5)

Daredevil Vol 5 1

Writer: Charles Soule

Artist: Ron Garney

The only Daredevil I’ve read is the Mark Waid run for Marvel Now! so I’m interested to see what Charles Soule’s gonna do with it.  I’m pretty sure he gains a sidekick in the title so this should be a fun read!

 

Deadpool (Vol. 4)

Deadpool Vol 4 1

Writer: Gerry Duggan

Artist: Mike Hawthorne

OK, I’ve been a little obsessed with Deadpool recently so I’m gonna be interested in any Deadpool title really.  Apparently this title is suppose to center around how Deadpool is Marvel’s most popular hero or something like that so this should be interesting.  Like I’ve been saying in recent posts, my Deadpool reading list is rather small and consists of: Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Deadpool Vs Carnage, and Deadpool’s Secret Secret Wars so any Deadpool stories at this point interests me.

 

Doctor Strange (Vol. 4)

Doctor Strange Vol 4 1

Writer: Jason Aaron

Artist: Chris Bachalo

So Doctor Strange is finally getting another title!  I must admit that I don’t know much about Doctor Strange but the creative team looks interesting enough so I don’t really know what this is about nor do I have any expectations.

 

Drax

Drax Vol 1 1

Writers: CM Punk and Cullen Bunn

Artist: Scott Hepburn

Why is Drax getting is own book?  He’s personally my least favorite of the Guardians of the Galaxy (I don’t dislike him, I just don’t care about him) so I have no care how this title turns out.

 

Extraordinary X-Men

Extraordinary X-Men Vol 1 1

Writer: Jeff Lemire

Artist: Humberto Ramos

I have no idea what this X-Men story is going to be about but I don’t really care I’m hyped either way!  If you’re a long time reader of mine than you’ll know that I absolutely love the X-Men and this roster seems pretty awesome with some of my favorite members including Storm, Nightcrawler, Colossus, and Jean Grey.  The only member I really don’t care for is Old Man Logan who’s basically a really old Wolverine who came from this one graphic novel that I don’t know much about.  If you want to start reading X-Men I’d suggest checking out this book.  The only thing I doubt I’m gonna like, judging by the cover, is the art as I’m personally not a big fan of it.

 

Guardians of the Galaxy (Vol. 4)

Guardians of the Galaxy

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis

Artist: Valerio Schitti

This Guardians of the Galaxy is being written by Bendis, whose one of my favorite writers, so I’m pretty excited to see how this goes.  It has the movie team with Drax, (I am) Groot, and Rocket but instead of Peter Quill we have Kitty Pryde aka Shadowcat as Star-Lord and Ben Grimm aka the Thing (from the Fantastic Four) both joining the team and I like Kitty Pryde so that will be interesting.  It also looks like Venom’s gonna be on the team so that should be pretty awesome.

 

Guardians of Infinity

Guardians of Infinity Vol 1 1

Writer: Dan Abnett

Aritst: Carlo Barberi

Don’t know the difference between this and Guardians of the Galaxy so let’s move on.

 

Hercules (Vol. 4)

Hercules Vol 4 1

Writer: Dan Abnett

Artist: Luke Ross

Hercules is more of a background character so I really don’t care much about this title.

 

Howard the Duck

 

Writer: Chip Zdarsky

Artist: Joe Quinones

Don’t know much about Howard the Duck, don’t care about the title.

 

Howling Commandos of S.H.I.E.L.D

Howling Commandos of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Writer: Frank Barbiere

Artist: Bren Schoonover

This looks like Marvel’s answer to Justice League Dark so I really have no care about this title and I’m moving on!

 

Illuminati

Illuminati

Writer: Josh Williamson

Artist: Shawn Crystal

This book seems pretty interesting as it’s about villains protecting other villains so they can continue doing crimes.  Don’t have much to say other than that but it seems interesting enough.

 

Invincible Iron Man (Vol. 2)

Invincible Iron Man Vol 2 1

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis

Artist: David Marquez

This title seems like it is everywhere.  It’s written by Bendis so it’ll probably be good.  Iron Man is now broke, he sold the Avengers Mansion, and things is going on about his parents and how he may not actually be an orphan?  I don’t know, it seems interesting so I’ll maybe take a look.

 

Karnak

Karnak Vol 1 1

Writer: Warren Ellis

Artist: Gerardo Zaffino

Don’t care…
The Mighty Thor (Vol. 2)

The Mighty Thor Vol 2 1

Writer: Jason Aaron

Artist: Russell Dauterman

OK, in the first run of Jane Foster being Thor Nick Fury whispered something in Odinson’s ear making him no longer worthy to wield Mjolnir.  Because of this, Jane Foster (who I think has cancer now?) picked up Mjolnir and is shown to be worthy enough to become the new Thor.  I read the first 4 issues of the first run and I don’t know why I stopped but it was an awesome read.  I have similar opinions to making Thor a woman as I do making Captain America Black but at the same time the first run was so good that I kinda feel like I want to to continue despite me wishing they’d just invent another superheroine.

 

Mockingbird

 

Writer: Chelsea Cain

Don’t care…

 

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vol 1 1

Writers: Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclare

Artist: Natacha Bustos

This title actually got some backlash as the original comic (which I didn’t even know existed) was called Moon Boy and Devil Dinosaur, but I don’t care since I’ve never heard of that comic.  I like Dinosaurs personally (and I like the Jurassic Park movies) so while I’m not sure if I’m going to pick this title up or not I am a little curious.  I’m not sure if I’ve read Amy Reeder or not but people are saying that she’ll make this a cool title so this should be interesting.

 

Moon Knight (Vol. 6)

 

Writer: Jeff Lemire

Artist: Greg Smallwood

Never read Moon Knight but he seems like an interesting character so this could be good.

 

Ms. Marvel (Vol. 4)

Ms Marvel Vol 4 1

Writer: G. Willow Wilson

Artists: Takeshi Miyazawa and Adrian Alphona

I read the first trade of the first run of Ms. Marvel staring Kamala Khan and I gotta say that I loved it!  I do want to finish reading the first run before I even touch this run but now that she’s a full fledged Avenger this should be interesting to read.  I am glad that G. Willow Wilson is back to writing her because Kamala is basically her baby at this point so I wouldn’t want anyone else writing her for a long while.

 

New Avengers (Vol. 4)

New Avengers Vol 4 1

Writer: Al Ewing

Artist: Gerardo Sandoval

So this team I think is basically the Young Avengers since it’s a branch of the Avengers consisting of teenagers.  The roster includes: Sunspot, Squirrel Girl, Hawkeye, Songbird, Hulkling, and Wiccan.  Of course if Hulkling’s on the team than Wiccan has to be on the team and vise versa and I gotta say that those two are the only reason I may read this comic.  I read the second trade of Young Avengers Vol. 1 and the first trade of Young Avengers Vol. 2 (meant to grab the first two trades of the first run at my library but made a mistake and got the first trade of the second run instead) so I know Wiccan and Hulkling and I love those two so if I get this title it’s for them.  Everyone else I don’t really care about.

 

Nova (Vol. 6)

Nova Vol 6 1

Writer: Sean Ryan

Artist: Cory Smith

I honestly don’t know what this comic is about and the descriptions I’m getting is everywhere but it will involve both Sam Alexander and his father.  I’ve never read Nova and honestly I’ve always been more interested in the Green Lanterns so I really don’t have any major thoughts on this title.

 

Old Man Logan (Vol. 2)

Old Man Logan Vol 2 1

Writer: Jeff Lemire

Artist: Andrea Sorrentino

Because X-23 being Wolverine isn’t enough for Marvel we have Old Man Logan.  Yeah, I don’t really care so I’m not gonna even take a look at this title.  Unless it’s one of those “If you hate this character than read this comic and maybe you’ll appreciate him more” type of comics than I’m really not interested.

 

Patsy Walker A.K.A Hellcat

Patsy Walker AKA Hellcat

Writer: Kate Leth

Artist: Brittney Williams

Don’t care…

 

Red Wolf (Vol 2)

Red Wolf Vol 2 1

Writer: Nathan Edmondson

Artist: Dalibor Talajić

Don’t care…

 

Rocket Raccoon and Groot

Rocket Raccoon and Groot Vol 1 1

Writer: Skottie Young

Artist: Felipe Andrade

This is probably gonna be pretty fun but I don’t care enought to read it so whatever.

 

Scarlet Witch (Vol. 2)

Scarlet Witch

Writer: James Robinson

I love Scarlet Witch and James Robinson is a good writer so I’m looking forward to this.  I really hope the Quicksilver will also show up because I love these two and while I wish they where still mutants I will pretty much want to read whatever Marvel does with them at this point.

 

Silk (Vol. 2)

Silk

Writer: Robbie Thompson

Artist: Stacey Lee

I don’t like Silk.  That’s pretty much all I have to say about this, I just don’t like Silk.

 

Silver Surfer (Vol. 8)

Silver Surfer Vol 8 1

Writer: Dan Slott

Artist: Mike Allred

I don’t like Dan Slott writing Spider-man so I don’t know how well he does with Silver Surfer.  This could be good, this could be bad, I really don’t know.

 

Spider-Gwen (Vol. 2)

Spider-Gwen Vol 2 1

Writer: Jason Latour

Artist: Robbi Rodriguez

Now that the multiverse is supposibly gone I think Spider-Woman/Gwen Stacey is now on Earth-616 with everybody else but I could be wrong about that.  I loved her first run and I can’t wait for this run on her but I hope they go more in-depth with who this Gwen Stacey is.

 

Spider-man (Vol. 2)

Spider-man vol 2 1

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis

Artist: Sara Pichelli

I’m excited about this title!  It’s nice that Miles finally got a title that doesn’t have the word  “Ultimate” in front of it and Bendis is a great writer so I have a feeling that I’m going to like this title more than I’m gonna like Peter Parker’s title.  I just hope that Peter Parker doesn’t show up in this title because I feel like his presence will just overshadow Miles and I want Miles to be the center of attention in this comic.

 

Spider-man 2099 (Vol. 3)

Spider-man 2099 Vol 3 1

Writer: Peter David

Artist: Sliney

I don’t really care about Spider-man 2099 but hey it’s written by Peter David who wrote the guy so it might be good.  I know that Spider-man 2099 was created before Batman Beyond but I do feel like Batman Beyond is just a better character.

 

Spider-man/Deadpool

Spider-man Deadpool Vol 1 1

Writer: Joe Kelley

Artist: Ed McGuiness

I have a few thoughts on this comic and they are all good.  First, why did it take this long for this comic to be made?  This duo seems like it should’ve been made a long time ago!  And the creative team I’m pretty sure is the same team who help Deadpool get popular in the 90’s so they know how to write Deadpool.  I’m excited!

 

Spider-Woman (Vol. 6)

Spider-woman Vol 6 1

Writer: Dennis Hopeless

Artist: Javier Rodriguez

Jessica Drew is pregnant and I don’t really care.  I never seen anything that interesting about Jessica so to me she’s just a boring character.

 

Spidey

Spidey Vol 1 1

Writer: Robbie Thompson

Artist: Nick Bradshaw

I think this is suppose to be in the past and it focuses on Spider-man back when he was younger and more street-leveled than he is today so I’m personally pretty excited about this title.

 

Squadron Supreme (Vol. 3)

Squadron Supreme Vol 3 1

Writer: James Robinson

Artist: Leonard Kirk

Don’t care…

 

Star-Lord (Vol. 2)

Star-Lord Vol 2 1

Writer: Sam Humphries

Artist: Javier Garron

Seems interesting but I don’t have many thoughts on this.

 

Starbrand and Nightmask

Sstarbrand and Nightmask Vol 1 1

Writer: Greg Weisman

Artist: Dominike Stanton

Don’t know, don’t care

 

Totally Awesome Hulk

Totally Awesome Hulk Vol 1 1

Writer: Greg Pak

Artist: Frank Cho

This title seems really strange to me as it features the Hulk but it’s not Bruce Banner.  Honestly I’m more worried about this title than I am excited.  I like Hulk and he’s a tragic character but he’s a hard character to write and replacing Bruce Banner with someone else isn’t really the best idea in my opinion.  Also, “Totally Awesome Hulk”?  That is the worse title name that you could’ve came up with.

 

Ultimates

Ultimates Vol 4 1

Writer: Al Ewing

Artist: Kenneth Rocafort

The original Ultimates is what started the Ultimate Marvel Universe and is basically their version of the Avengers.  It looks like the Ultimates are going to be battling Galactus so this  seems like it can be an awesome title but I never liked the Ultimates so I may not buy it.

 

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (Vol. 2)

Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol 2 1

Writer: Ryan North

Artist: Erica Henderson

Don’t like Squirrel Girl so I probably won’t like this comic.

 

Uncanny Avengers (Vol. 3)

Uncanny Avengers

Writer: Gerry Duggan

Artist: Ryan Stegman

Well Deadpool, Spider-man, and Quicksilver’s (who’s costume looks kinda dumb) gonna be on the team.  Other than that, I really don’t care.  This could be good, or it could be mediocre but I don’t think it’s gonna be awesome or anything like that.

 

Uncanny Inhumans

Uncanny Inhumans

Writer: Charles Soule

Artist: Steve McNiven

I have similar opinions towards this as I do towards All-New Inhumans so not much to say here. Beast is on this one so that should be cool.

 

Uncanny X-Men (Vol. 4)

Uncanny X-Men Vol 4 1

Writer: Cullen Bunn

Artist: Greg Land

This comic looks like it’s going to be focused on the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants if they where doing what Professor X have always wanted.  I don’t like Greg Land so I wish it had a different artist but it looks decent.

 

Venom: Spaceknight

Venom Spaceknight Vol 1 1

Writer: Robbie Thompson

Artist: Ariel Olivetti

You know how I mentioned me wanting Venom over Carnage when I went over Carnage’s title…I didn’t mean like this.  I love Venom and Flash Thompson’s ok but this isn’t what I had in mind.  Ah well.

 

The Vision (Vol. 3)

Vision

Writer: Tom King

Artist: Gabriel Hernandez Walta

This is weird.  I like Vision like I like Martian Manhunter in the sense that his powers are cool but his character is boring so a Vision centered comic isn’t my cup of tea but apparently they’re giving Vision an entire Vision family and that’s just kinda odd.

 

Web Warriors

Web Warrior Vol 1 1

Writer: Mike Costa

Artist: David Bildeon

You know I love Peter Parker/Spider-man (well, I love Peter Parker/Spider-man before Slott took over), I love Miles Morales/Spider-man, and I love Gwen Stacey/Spider-Woman, but that’s pretty much it and I didn’t care for the whole Spider-verse story line at all so this title does not interest me at all.

 

Weirdworld (Vol. 2)

Weirdworld Vol 2 1

Writer: Sam Humphries

Artist: Mike Del Mundo

Don’t know, don’t care.

 

X-Men ’92

X-Men '92

Writers: Chris Sims and Chad Bowers

Artist: Alti Firmansyah

OK, I read the Secret Wars tie-in miniseries that consisted of 4 issues and I loved it and I’ll review it soon, but it didn’t deserve to keep going.  I never saw the original 90’s cartoon so I have no nostolgia to it and while I love the X-Men this comic should’ve stayed as a miniseries for people who have nostalgia towards the cartoons.

 

11 comments

  1. For the record: Spider-Gwen will be set in her own reality (Earth-65), but will have crossovers with the main reality.

    The Slott/Allred Silver Surfer run has been amazing. It’s fun, and funny, and heartfelt, and weird and creative and crazy and just an absolute delight to read.

    Angela is about a woman beating up a Death Goddess and taking over the Underworld just to be reunited with the woman she loves. So it’s going to be a pretty great comic.

    1. Huh, I thought they completely eliminated the multiverse with the exception of maybe the movies and video games

      Alrighty than, maybe I’ll check Silver Surfer out. Just because I don’t like Slott on Spider-man doesn’t mean I won’t like him on Silver Surfer!

      So Angela’s gay? I actually didn’t know that about her. Makes me a bit more curious to read her comic.

      1. Secret Wars destroyed the multiverse, but it’ll be restored at the end. Which is something I expected, actually. And yeah, Angela will be Marvel’s only LGBT solo title that we know of. Though Kath Leth, writer of Hellcat, may have hinted that Hellcat might be LGBT.

      2. Well that’s not 100% true. Deadpool is confirmed to be pansexual (meaning he’s attracted to pans…no, actually it means he can be attracted to anybody regardless of gender) so Angela won’t be the only LGBT solo title. I know very little about Hellcat though I know that she’s been around for a while.

      3. Deadpool’s confirmed as “depends on what the writer feels would be funny at any given moment.” Deadpool’s “pansexuality” is a joke. It has NEVER, in his entire history, actually been used for anything other than a joke. When a writer has Deadpool talk about a guy he used to date, then I’ll believe it. Until then, the writers who say he’s pansexual can shut the hell up.

        Alonso has said Hercules is straight, and Abnett wasn’t aware that he was supposed to be bisexual. We’ve had no word on whether it’ll come up in his solo, either. And like Deadpool, Herc’s bisexuality was basically relegated to being an occasional minor joke. We’ve never see Hercules even flirt with a guy, let alone sleep with one. Again, I’ll believe he’s bisexual when he’s shown as bisexual.

        Angela’s the only solo title where the main character is actually explicitly shown as being interested in someone of the same gender. For all intents and purposes, Angela’s the only LGBT solo, because it’s the only solo where readers who haven’t read the character’s every appearance along with multiple interviews with creators can see, “Oh, hey, this character isn’t straight.” (As added LGBT representation, her lover, Serah, is a trans woman.)

      4. OK, that does make sense. I kinda wish Deadpool’s pan sexuality wasn’t a joke though :/ Although honestly you can tell me he’s legit or it’s a joke and it would make sense both ways considering his character.

        I could’ve sworn I’ve seen a panel where Hercules is kissing a guy but I’ve never read his comics so it may be taken out of context.

        Maybe I will pick up Angela than…

        Even if Deadpool and Hercules are straight, at least Marvel does have a bunch of 100% legit LGBT heroes like Wiccan, Hulkling, Miss America, Loki, Noh-Varr, Prodigy, etc.

  2. Axel Alonso officialy stated on behalf of Marvel that Hercules isn’t gay/bi. He said that previous occurrences where Hercules was depicted as gay didn’t count or mean anything because he was in a different universe. (so basically he is bi in alternate universes but when it comes to his own universe he’s straight)

Leave a Reply

