Suicide Squad Comic-Con Trailer Review and Explaned

Warning:  All of what I’m about to say may very well be me speculating and theorizing.  So if I say something that contradicts something that is revealed later than that is why.  Also just to be on the safe side I’m just going to say there are possible spoilers below but I highly doubt there’s anything that will ruin the movie if I mention it.

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So I already went over the Comic-Con trailer of Batman V Superman so I thought I should touch upon the trailer for Suicide Squad.  The trailer is above if you haven’t seen it yet (although let’s face it, all of you have) so let’s check it out.  Also real quick, my fan-requested Superior Spider-man review will hopefully be up Monday (the 20th) but at the very latest it will be up next Friday (the 24th).

Before I get to the actual review, I do want to say that I have never actually read a Suicide Squad comic before.  I know who they are and what they do, but I never read one of their stories before.  So if you’re expecting me to say something like “Oh I recognize this from that story” than sorry to disappoint; although I have seen Batman: Assault on Arkham.  If you don’t know who the Suicide Squad is, than I would recommend checking this video out for their origin and back story.

Now for the first whole minute of the trailer (0:01-1:00) we can see Amanda Waller (the woman played by Viola Davis) discussing with these two men (can’t tell who they are.  Government people?  Waller’s goons?  IDK) about forming the Suicide Squad.  I have to admit, I prefer my Amanda Waller to be a bit more on the big side but DC did make her skinny in the New 52 so it’s not exactly comic book inaccurate.  One thing is I do hope that Amanda Waller becomes a powerful character within the movie because I don’t feel like she gets the respect she deserves outside of comics.  She does a lot around the DC universe and to see her hit the big screen for the first time I’m expecting to be a strong, no-nonsense type of character who isn’t afraid to put a bullet in someones head if they don’t do as she commands.

One thing that she says at 0:32 that Superman must have been what caused some of these super-powered villains to come out.  I kinda like that.  1. because it connects this movie to Man of Steel and Batman V Superman, and 2. because it kinda plays around with the Batman argument “did Batman create his villains or did the villains create the Batman”.  Also, I do not like the line “Let’s just say I put them in a hole and threw away the hole” (0:22), but I love the line “…getting people to act against their own self-interest is what I do for a living” as it does give Waller that type of strength that I always saw from her in the comics.

At 1:01 we get to see a better look at Harley Quinn (played by Margot Robbie) outside of costume for the first time.  Let me just say that I have mixed feelings about this version of Harley Quinn.  I like how she seems pretty insane in this trailer which is how I personally like my Harley Quinn.  However, Margot Robbie seems to be performing as something like a lost child which I’m not a bug fan of.  The Harley Quinn I know (both from the animated series in the 90’s and the comics) is manipulative but as shown at around the 2:30 mark Captain Boomerang (I’ll get to him) made a comment about the “crazy ones” and Harley replies with a “huh?”.  I didn’t like that.  Harley Quinn is manipulative not unobservant.  Maybe this will make more sense within the context of the film but I still have mixed feelings about her.  Although I do like the acrobatics she’s doing in her cage.

At 1:08 I’m not quite sure who that guy is but he does look creepy as heck.

1:14 Will Smith is playing Deadshot in this and while I like Deadshot as a character, when I see this I see Will Smith playing Deadshot not Deadshot.

1:20 we see the first look at Killer Croc all Hannibal Lector like and I really like what I see with Croc so far.  I do hope that he ends up in one of the Batman movies in the future because Killer Croc is personally one of my favorite Batman villains so that would be awesome!

1:31 you can see Will Smith in his Deadshot costume and other than the mask I like it.  I don’t know, there’s something about the mask that doesn’t look right.

1:34 around here I saw someone in a goat mask and it looks like there’s going to be a shooting at a hospital (if it’s in Arkham than I wouldn’t be surprise) so this already seems like it has some weird stuff going on.

1:40 you can see Enchantress  in some black water and a pentagram behind her.  I don’t know much about her but she’s suppose to be powerful sorcerer so I’m interested with what they do with her.

1:42 we see the team together for the first time.  On the far left is Killer Croc and he looks even cooler now that he’s out of that Hannibal Lector get-up  The guy behind the skull-face is Captain Boomerang and I’m pretty excited to see what they do with him.  Captain Boomerang is a Flash villain so maybe he’ll move on to one of the Flash movies if he doesn’t die in this movie.  The girl behind Harley Quinn looks like Katana and she looks pretty good, especially later in the trailer when we get a better look at her.

1:44 see, this is what I mean about Will Smith as Deadshot.  I like Will Smith just fine and I like Deadshot as a character, but the way Will Smith plays him I see Will Smith not Deadshot.  Am I the only one who sees this?  Like that “let’s go save the world” line at 1:51.  I don’t know, maybe it’s just me.

1:57 although I do like this little clip.  Deadshot does have a daughter and that did play a huge role in the Assault on Arkham movie so I’m thinking that his daughter will be a huge motivator in the film.

1:58 okay, please tell me that’s not what I think it is.  I can’t tell for sure but seriously…

2:03 – I am seriously digging Killer Croc’s look in this.  Please don’t die!

2:05 – Loved Harley using her bat is a gun.

2:00-2:06 – “JUSTICE HAS A BAD SIDE” Love it!

2:08 – LOL, that panda with the machine gun is hilarious and very Suicide Squad!

2:09 – and the Batman mask.  Loving it.

2:14 – I’m really curious with the what the Joker is doing here.  What exactly is going on.

2:15 – Boo!  Really?  Harley licking the prison bar?  Boo!

2:18 – Okay, this goes by real quickly but what is going on here?  I see Joker with what looks like Harley Quinn in her Harleen Quinzel look.  Is this going to be Harley’s new origin?  Cause it looks like Joker’s going to do something to her to turn her into Harley Quinn.  I don’t know, I don’t like how that’s taking away the choice aspect to her character.  Harleen Quinzel chose to become Harley Quinn, she wasn’t forced to become her.

2:20 – Harley Quinn performing some of her acrobatic skill whie fighting. Love it!

2:22 – “I hope you got insurance” have to admit, I find this line pretty funny.  A very Harley Quinn line.  And Batman jumping onto the car looks super awesome.

2:30 – Okay, I do like the bubble gum.  But as I mentioned earlier, I don’t like unobservant Harley so unless this is taken out of context and she’s being manipulative, I have mixed feelings about this.  Although I do like Captain Boomerangs accent.

2:40-2:58 – And Jared Leto as the Joker.  Okay, let me talk about him a little here as this portrayal is very controversial.  Now first off, there probably will never be a better portrayal of the Joker than Heath Ledger’s joker in the Dark Knight trilogy, so it will be really unfair to compare the two.  However, even if we look at Jared Let’s Joker as it’s own adaptation and it’s own version…I don’t like it.  The hair is to bright, the tattoos are stupid, I don’t like his teeth, and this Joker seems to be more into harming people than being humorous.  Now don’t get me wrong, Joker being the psychopath that he is is a huge part of his character, but he always wants it to be big and humorous in his sick twisted way.  This Joker doesn’t seem to care as much about the dramatics as he does about harming people.  So yeah, not a fan.

Overall I’d say the trailer looks pretty good.  Admittingly, I am more excited for Batman V Superman but this movie does seem interesting as well.  Now this won’t be Suicide Squad if some of the team doesn’t die.  So personally if I would to pick who survives and who dies, than it would go something like this: Joker, Harley Quinn, Killer Croc, and Captain Boomerang survives (although let’s face it, Joker will survive.  Even if he dies, he’ll survive), and Deadshot, Katana, Enchantress, and Skull-face (my nickname to him since I don’t know who that guy is) will die.  My reasons?  Joker will survive even if he dies because he’s Joker(and cheating death is child’s play to him), Harley Quinn simply because I like her, Kille Croc so he can end up in a Batman movie, and Captain Boomerang so he can wind up in a Flash movie.  The others I don’t really care about so they can die for all I care (wow that sounded really mean lol).  Anyways what are your thoughts on the trailer?  Comment below or vote on today’s end poll!

 

End Poll

5 comments

  1. This is one film that I know that I am not going to like right off the bat. It has too much of a Daredevil (gritty) feel to it for me. If it’s R then I’ll be able to skip out on seeing it in theaters. If not, I’ll likely be seeing it there and then I can shred it in my review. That being said, maybe it’ll be good….maybe. Either way, I’ve got Batman V Superman to capture my attention!

    1. I don’t know, I actually liked Daredevil and I won’t really mind if this movie its a bit mature. They’re a bunch of villains and antiheroes after all so of it a bit more violent, gritty, and mature than other DC movies (like Batman V Superman) than I’ll be perfectly five with it (unless they go overboard with all the sex and violence). But Batman V Superman is definitely my number one anticipated film right now.

      Most our the cast seems great to. I have a few problems with Harley Quinn but she seems good for the most part. Joker’s the only one I’m really not liking.

      Can i ask how old are you? Just curious since you as

      1. I’m around 20. (I never give my exact age online, but close to this number) I really don’t like seeing pain and excessive violence on screen. To a small extent, it’s all right like in the average summer blockbuster film, but when it starts to get to Agents of SHIELD or Gotham levels, then it becomes a real problem for me. Something like Daredevil, well I ended up giving it a 0 because it forced the MA rating onto the viewers with every episode. It’s a good thing that you won’t mind the mature part for this film because I can 100% guarantee that Suicide Squad is going to be incredibliy violent and dark. There will certainly be both sex and violence and that’s why I can’t see this film getting any higher than a 2 for me and maybe even lower. The one thing worse than excessive violence is animal violence. Third place is sexual content and fourth would be language. They are the big no nos of films for me. It’s why Ant Man ended up only getting a 4 from me as it broke 2 of the big no no rules.

      2. I guess everyone views maturity levels in media differently. I do notice you bring animal violence up quite a bit when you review thing (Jurassic Park and Batman Va Robin just to name two). Personally its the sex that really annoys me. Violence and language I’m fine with (unless its completely unnecessary or goes overboard).

      3. Definitely, we each have our own thing that bothers us more than others. It’s why I typically tend to love anime that are more laid back and reserved with the content as well as films like Avengers and Man of Steel, which are more popcorn entertainment than anything else. Nowadays, it is hard to find a big mainstream title that doesn’t have a lot of excessive content. It seems that people just want violence nowadays. If you look at the most popular shows and movies, Walking Dead, Daredevil, Game of Thrones, you can definitely see a pattern as far as the content goes. While it has also reached cinema, it’s to a smaller extent as films like Minions, Avengers, and Jurassic World are still doing really well without being too over the top.

Leave a Reply

