Batman V Superman Comic-Con Trailer Review and Explained

Warning:  All of what I’m about to say may very well be me speculating and theorizing.  So if I say something that contradicts something that is revealed later than that is why.  Also just to be on the safe side I’m just going to say there are possible spoilers below but I highly doubt there’s anything that will ruin the movie if I mention it.

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So as most of you probably know by now, the second trailer for Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice (you know, saying the full title over and over again doesn’t change how ridiculously cheesy it sounds) was released at Comic-Con and since I did a review on the first trailer I figured I should talk about my thoughts on this one.  So let get to the review!

So right off the bat (no pun intended), it seems like we’re getting to see some of the things that happened during and after the Superman vs Zod battle in Metropolis as the first thing we here is: “Today, is a day for truth.  The world needs to know what happened, and what he stands for.  That type of power is very dangerous.  Let the record show that this comity holds him responsible”; and while we’re hearing this speech, we can see Bruce Wayne run into the debris of a collapsing building (caused  by someone’s heat vision) to save a little girl.  I feel like this answers the big question of why are these two fighting and I believe this trailer confirms what I’ve been speculating: Batman is facing Superman because he believes Superman is not safe.  After all, Superman did 9/11 Metropolis (even if Zod did help) so the fact that he feels like he need to step up and defend the innocent does make sense.

There also seems to be a lot more of that god complex with Superman here as there where several times that Superman seems to carry the weight of everybody’s hope in his soldiers.  Such as when Lois told him that his symbol means something (1:22), the people on submerged houses during the flood (1:26), and Martha Kent encouraging Superman to be people’s hero (1:32-1:47).

We also get to see a lot of Batman in this trailer.  I’m guessing that we’re going to get another look at Batman’s origin story (albeit, probably brief) as we see Bruce’s parents get gunned down at 2:27.  With that said, I mentioned earlier that Batman will probably challenge Superman to protect innocents as there Bruce saved that one girl and at 0:56 we see a news paper that reads “Dozens Killed” with marker over it saying “YOU LET YOUR FAMILY DIE”Now that we know why they fight, I want to now know what makes them team up.  Lex Luthor (who I’ll get to in a second) is confirmed to be the main villains to they’ll have to team up to defeat Lex at some point.

I also love how they’re sticking to the more dark Batman as we see a man with a bat-shape mark on his chest (probably from a Batarang) and a someone screamed off-screen with a bunch of bats flying off.  During all this, we can here someone say: “This bat vigilante is like a one man reign of terror”, which basically sums up Batman perfectly if your a villain in Gotham.  We also see Batman fighting a bunch of guys between 2:39-2:43 so we know he’d going to be kicking some butt.

To end the trailer, we get to see a glimpse of Batman fighting Superman and it looks awesome(2:48-3:02)!  Also, is that a Dark Knight Returns Easter-Egg I spotted at 2:55?

We also get out first look at Wonder Woman and Lex Luthor.  For Wonder Woman I feel like she was thrown in there just to say “Hey, I’m in this movie too” as beyond seeing glimpses of her here and there she’s not really in here that much.  We see a quick glimpse of Diana (Wonder Woman) at 2:35 and then Wonder Woman herself at 2:36 but I honestly can’t tell what she’s doing.  It looked like she used her bracelets to create a force field or something but it’s hard to tell.  We see a better view of Wonder Woman in costume at 2:53 and while I would prefer her uniform to be a little brighter, it still looks like Wonder Woman and I’m perfectly fine with the way they designed her costume.

We also see bits of Lex Luthor and even see him with a huge chunk of Kryptonite at 2:48 which I’m speculating will lead to some type of temporary surrender on Superman’s part as we see him on his knees at 1:53-1:56.  Also, Jesse Eisenberg looks like he’s really having fun with his role based on the way he said “The red capes are coming”.  Another thin you might have noticed: he’s not bald!  It has been confirmed that Eisenberg had to shave his head for the role so I’m guessing the kryptonite causes him to go bald as that’s how it goes in a few adaptations.  Either that or he’s wearing a wig like the old Christopher Reeves Superman movies.

Overall the trailer looks awesome and I so can’t wait for this thing to come out.  While I do like the first one better (although that’s mostly due to the “Tell me, do you bleed?  You will!” line) this one definitely showed us a bit more about what’s going to happen in the movies.  I kinda wish we got to see a little bit more of the Justice League in here (especially Aquaman) but the fact that we got to see the DC trinity (Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman) in live action form at the same time (or at least in the same video) is still pretty cool.

There was also a bunch of Easter Eggs within the trailer but my favorite has got to be the one at 2:01 where we see a Robin costume with yellow spray paint saying “HAHAHA JOKE’S ON YOU BATMAN” witch is alluding to the Death in the Family storyline where Jason Todd (the second Robin) was killed off by the Joker.  At first glance, I actually didn’t realize this was a Robin costume due to the dark colors chosen (which seems to be a common theme in this movie for some reason) but after staring at it for a little bit it’s impossible to mistake if you’re a long time Batman fan.  This Easter Egg actually excites me a lot because I’m pretty sure that outside of Batman and Robin (often ridiculed as being one of the worst Batman movies-scratch that- the worst superhero  movies ever) we haven’t seen Robin in a live-action movie which actually kinda blows my mind once I realized this.  Batman debuted in 1939 while Robin (Dick Grayson-the first Robin) debuted in 1940, meaning that Robin is about as essential to the Batman mythos as Watson is to Sherlock Holmes.  So this Easter Egg basically confirms that Jason Todd is around which probably means it’s safe to say that Nightwing (Dick Grayson) is around and that just gets me all giddy just thinking about it XD.

End Poll

So what are your thoughts on the trailer?  Love it? Hate it?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

