Free Comic Book Day – Reviews

Free Comic Book Day 2015Hello interweb, Nate here.  So Saturday was Free Comic Book Day!  For those of you who don’t know, FCBD is the first Saturday of every May where comic book publishers selects a few of their comics and gives them out for free.  This was actually my first time going to a FCBD event so I didn’t really know what to expect.  I originally was planning on getting more titles than I got (such as Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Avatar, and Pokemon) but it turned out that you where only allowed to get three comics unless you where cosplaying (dressing up as a fictional character, usually from comics or anime/manga) where you could take four.  So the comics I ended up getting was: Divergence #1 from DC, and Secret Wars #0 and All-New All-Different Avengers both from Marvel.  Since I liked all the comics I got, I decided that I wanted to give them a review.  However, because I got 3 comics that I want to review I’m not going to do my usual comic review format just to make it a little quicker.  Also, I’m just going to talk about the stories, so don’t be surprise if I don’t mention the art or anything like that.  So with that in mind, what did I think about these comics?

 

1=terrible, 2=bad, 3=ok, 4=good, and 5=outstanding

Divergence #1 – Review

Divergence #1

Divergence is basically DC’s sneak peek into what DC will look like after Convergence is over.  This specific comic is split into three stories with one focused on Batman, one on Superman, and one on Justice League.  Each one has a different writer being made by Scott Snyder, Gene Luen Yang, and Geoff Johns respectively.

The first story is a Batman story.  It turns out that Batman died ( I don’t know anything about this death so it must’ve happened in a different comic or it’s about to happen in the comics) and Gotham is mourning over his departure.  As a result, James Gordan seems to be taking up the role as the new Batman with a robotic suit that looks kinda like a cross between Iron Man and Blue Beetle with a bat-theme to it.  While I’m a little concerned about Bruce dying, I know that he’s bound to come back soon and it might be as weird as that time he was killed only he wasn’t killed and was sent back in time, and became a pirate, and a viking, and…yeah.  I’m also not a big fan of the suit.  Like I said, it looks like their ripping off Iron Man and I just don’t like the idea of Batman going around in a robotic bat-armor.  He’s done that before, but it was always to defeat someone who was too strong for him to fight normally.

In  the next story (and my personal favorite of the comic), Lois Lane reveals Superman’s identity as Clark Kent and he goes into hiding.  While in hiding, a guy with some kind of super strength sees him and recognizes him before attempting to pound him with a truck.  Of course he survived the encounter and flies off to a motel to keep in hiding while everyone is tweeting about Clark Kent/Superman.  This story was a really interesting start and I actually can’t wait to read the continued story.  I hope that his identity stays public knowledge for a little bit before DC does some kind of comic book craziness to make it secret again (c’mon, do you really think this is gonna a permanent change?).

The final story is a Justice League story that shows us what’s to come.  It features a prophecy given by an Amazon from Themyscira about the Justice League while Darkseid and the Anti-Monitor are battling each other.  There is a prophecy of for each member: “I see a man who will make a horrific sacrifice” for Hal Jordan/Green Lantern, “I see a new god born” for Batman, “I see a hope lost” for Superman with a picture of Lex Luthor holding his cape and screaming “Superman?! Where are you ?!”, I see a drowned king” for Aquaman, “I see science and magic die” for Cyborg and Captain Marvel, “I see the man who always escapes caught” for Mr. Miracle (Google it), and “And at the center of of it all, I see an Amazon.  Back in the world carrying on the mission the gods gave us”  for Wonder Woman.  The final story is rather intriguing.  I’m not actually sure if this is what the Justice League is going to look like or not but I can’t wait to see.

Overall the comic itself has some interesting ideas and I can’t wait where things go from here.  Overall, the only comic I’m not to excited about is strangely Batman.  I’m just not a big fan of Commissioner Gordan of all people taking the mantle.  I know it’s temporary, but a story like this I would’ve liked a lot better if they removed the robot suit and gave Dick Grayson the temporary mantle of Batman.  One thing is for sure, I do like this better than Secret Wars #0.  Call it a DC bias, but I just like the way they did this comic better than Marvel did theirs.  4.5/5

 

Secret Wars #0 – Review

Secret Wars #0

This is the first issue of Secret Wars and I’m actually didn’t like what they did with the issue.  Now the story about the universes colliding and how Earth will end and all that stuff I like; but I just don’t like how they did it in the perspective of the Future Foundation.  Also, the Future Foundation is made up of kids now, and I don’t mean kids like high schoolers, I mean 7ish-year old kid superheroes.  Now this could be because I couldn’t care less about the Fantastic Four (where, if I’m correct, the Future Foundation branched off of), but I don’t remember the team being full of kid superheroes.  Now the main speaker (she’s less of the protagonist and more of just the “this is what’s happening, audience” kinda person) is Valeria Ruchards whose the daughter of Mister Fantastic so she is smart enough to know what she knows in this issue, but I wish this was more from the perspective of the Avengers or something like that.  I couldn’t care less about the Future Foundation and while I know that the team probably has its fans, most people either don’t know these guys or care about other teams (e.g. the Avengers) more.  So why they made this decision is beyond me.

The story features Valeria Richard as she tells the rest of the Future Foundation about what has happened up to this point before a fight between this universe and the Ultimate Universe begins, and that’s it.  Basically what’s going on is that the different Marvel universes are all colliding with each other and their fighting to stay alive.  So the main 616 universe, the Ultimate Universe, the Super Hero Squad (anybody remember that show?) cartoon, etc. are all going to be fighting to stay.  In the main 616 universe, Valeria actually created some type of machine that can protect people from the collision, but it only holds 60 people.  So I’m not sure how that’s gonna work out considering that there’s probably more than 60 characters that Marvel want’s to keep, but I’m interested in where they’re going from here.  The main 616 universe is currently colliding with the Ultimate Universe and that’s where the comic ends.

I see a lot of similarities between this and Convergence but I can tell that they’re at least trying to do something different.  Considering what All-New All-Different Avengers is about (review of that below) I know a few things that’s gonna happen from here but I am somewhat concerned what the future holds for Marvel.  I’ll give this comic a 3.5/5, I honestly don’t think it will be necessary to read this in order to understand #1 and the choices they make for this comic just doesn’t make sense to me.  I kinda wish I chose to get the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle comic instead.

After the actual story, they have a minicomic called Attack on Avengers that’s basically a crossover of the Avengers and a manga called Attack on Titan.  It’s probably because the only anime/manga I care about is Pokemon, but I have never heard of Attack on Titan.  As far as I can tell, the manga is about giant monsters called Titans or something like that.  It was pretty fun to see the Avengers fight a bunch of giant monsters, but I think it would be more satisfying if you’re a fan of the manga.

 

All-New All-Different Avengers

All-New All-Different Avengers

Now here’s the comic that I admittingly wanted to get the most (yes, even more than Divergence).  All-New All-Different Avengers features the Avengers roster after Secret Wars is over and it looks awesome.  I actually originally thought that Secret Wars was going to result in a ground up reboot where literally everything starts from the beginning, but I guess not.  The reason I was really excited for this comic is that, well, it’s different!  This roster just looks so interesting that I had to check it out.  As a side note, this review might be a little longer than the two above due to the roster.

The new roster consists of Sam Wilson/Captain America as the leader, woman Thor, an unknown person as Iron Man, Vision, Ms. Marvel, Miles Morales/Spider-man, and Sam Alexander/Nova.  Now this is a rather odd team for obvious reasons and even confusing if you’re new to comics.  Half of the heroes are older and more skilled (Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, and Vision) while the other half are fairly new at the gig and aren’t as experienced (Nova, Ms. Marvel, and Spider-man).

Let’s start with Cap.  For those who aren’t exactly up to snuff, Sam Wilson used to be the hero known as the Falcon (evidence by his red wings that he kept) who took the mantle of Captain America after something happened with Steve Rodgers (I’m actually not exactly sure what and I just never bothered checking).  I’m actually surprised that they kept Sam as Captain America as I felt like that was a easily temporary change that could have been returned to normal thanks to the reboot.  Although I do feel like Sam’s worthy of the title as he’s proven himself several times and he’s practically been Cap’s sidekick for while.  Although being a leader seems to be making him a little stressed.  He needs to lighten up a bit but I have a feeling that that’s going to develop over time.

Thor is not the same Thor that we all know.  I don’t fully know the circumstances (unlike Cap, the reason for my lack of knowledge is due to my lack of interest in Thor from the beginning) but for one reason or another, Thor is no longer worthy to wield Mjolnir and so an unknown woman took the title of Thor as she’s now worthy.  Again, I was surprise that this wasn’t changed back with the reboot.  She’s ok, I guess, but she has few lines so it’s hard to really make a full opinion on her.

Next is Iron Man.  Like the previous two, I know that this Iron Man’s identity is unknown but I do no the reason (or at least I think I do).  Something happened with Tony Stark to make him act like a jerk in Superior Iron Man and so we can’t be sure if this Iron Man is Tony or someone else.  Many speculate that it’s Pepper Potts but nothing’s confirmed.

As with the previous three, we don’t fully know which Vision this is.  The Vision most people think of it currently with the Uncanny Avengers but we also have the Iron Lad version of Vision that’s with the Young Avengers.  so which vision this is is not quite clear.  Like the previous three, Vision has few lines as the comic mostly focused on the younger half of the roster.

Which brings us to Ms. Marvel.  Ms. Marvel is actually a new character as she debuted in 2013 and has since developed a fanbase.  I actually haven’t read her title so I know little about the character, including her powers.  She has a fun personality and I wonder what they will do with her.

Nova is also an interesting character.  I never really cared for Nova as the Nova Corps just seems like a rip-off of the Green Lantern but maybe he’ll be fun in upcoming issues.  His powers are pretty neat and he had some cool moments so I can’t wait to see more of him.

And my favorite character of the group: Spider-man.  This Spidey is the Miles Morales version and he was great in this comic.  I really liked his interactions with Cap (it feels weird calling him that) as Miles is kinda like that guy who wants to please everyone and do what’s right.  This even shows when he let’s a villain get away just to save one guy.

The story itself is rather simple and straight forward.  Radioactive Man (Google it) causes some trouble and the Avengers assemble to take care of him.  The younger half seems to still be learning as the older Avengers keeps trying to teach them things.  Like when Radioactive Man places a giant Green Lantern construct of a dragon (sorry, it was the first thing that came to my mind when I saw it) in front of a building and Iron Man asks the kids why someone would do that (Spidey’s correct answer: to keep anyone else from going in).  Another time is when Captain America (seriously, it feels wrong calling him that) congratulates Spidey for letting the bad guy get away to save one guy.

I like the tone this comic is going with as it’s very upbeat.  I hope that the title stays more light-hearted but I won’t be too upset if it get’s a little darker.  I’ll give it a 5/5

 

End Poll

Which reboot are you most excited for?

6 comments

  1. Yeah, I think budget cuts are also what’s limiting how many comics you can grab on FCBD. At Midtown Comics, they used to give you almost the full roster, like 20-30 comics. Now, they just give you 15, which is still good, but not quite as good and most of the smaller comic stores stick to the 3 comics per person motto. If you have any Midtown comics near you, it’s certainly worth the trip.

    For the Batman plot, have you read Batman #40 yet? It’s the end of that saga and it does lead into Divergence. I agree that the Superman story was the best part and it certainly has a lot of potential. For Secret Wars, I enjoyed it because I read almost the whole Future Foundation series and the current New Avengers series (Which leads into Secret Wars) so I’m glad about the incursions being why the universe is going to be stopped. It was a threat that the heroes could not stop for once. That’s pretty awesome. As for the All New Avengers, they should be a good group to have. The issue was definitely fun and I’m sure that it will be a good ride!

    1. Alright then. I actually haven’t been reanig much of Batman nor New Avengers nor Future Foundation, so I guess I’m cometely unprepared for these events, lol. My favorite comic from FCBD is definitely All-New All-Diffetent Avengers and I can’t wait to see where it goes.

      As for the comic book stores, I should check but I don’t know if there’s a Midtown Comics near us. I go to Graham Crackers Comics so that’s the store I went to this year. Next year I’ll probably try to cosplay so I can get more.

      1. That sounds like a plan! I do like the name as I’m a fan of Graham Crackers. One of the reasons why All new All Different Avengers is so good is that it’s more accessible than the other titles. You can just jump in and I will certainly be keeping up with it through trade paperbacks as well.

Leave a Reply

