My Opinion on Spider-man and the X-Men

Spider-man and the X-Men #1

Announcements

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So recently Marvel has announced that due to Death of Wolverine, Spider-man will take Wolverine’s place as a teacher for the Jean Grey School for Higher Learning.  Now I have to admit, I haven’t really been keeping up with Marvel Now!’s X-Men titles.  I haven’t read Wolverine and the X-Men because I was worried it would be less Wolverine and the X-Men and more Wolverine With a Few Cameos From the X-Men (as many of you know I am not a fan of Wolverine), I haven’t read the current run of Uncanny X-Men, and I have only read the first two trade paperback copies of All New X-Men (meaning I have read the first 10 issues) and stopped because nothing was really happening.  Besides those, I haven’t read Battle of the Atom (but I’m planning to), I have read AVX (Avengers Vs X-Men), and I have recently read Death of Wolverine.  So now that you guys no where I am with the X-Men titles, let’s check out the preview to this upcoming title.

The News

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery above shows pages from the series (Javascript needed)

So Wolverine has recently died in the four issue miniseries Death of Wolverine and as a result, Spider-man is now in the role as a guidance counselor for the X-Men while also helping the X-Men deal with the threat of Sauron and Stegron, two dinosaur themed villains (only in comic books kids).  While at the school, Spider-man has suspicions that a student is working with the enemy and have to find out who while still teaching the other mutants a lesson in responsibility.

 

My Opinion

Well to start out, this is my favorite Marvel superhero and my favorite Marvel superhero team (as well as my absolute favorite superhero team) in the same title, so that’s really interesting.  Now I’m hearing a lot of people confused that a non-mutant is teaching the X-Men (and the confusion id understandable) but the whole concept about the X-Men is acceptance and so if the mutants hate the prejudice society has placed on them, it makes sense to me that the mutants wouldn’t really place a sort of prejudice on the non-mutant Spider-man for teaching at the school.  Besides, Spidey is an experienced superhero and fighter, so he’s more then capable of teaching other super-powers people how to use their powers.  The only thing I see that might be wrong (and by wrong I mean causes some conflict, not wrong as in ruins the story) is that the mutants might be kinda nervous about being taught by a non-mutant sense their used to being surrounded by mutants.

Spider-Man and the X-Men #1 variant cover by Bengal

Spider-Man and the X-Men #1 variant cover by Bengal

Spider-man and the X-Men 3But along with that, this series looks hilarious.  My favorite page is the one shown on the left as the bottom panel made me laugh so hard, especially sense he’s going by Mr. Spider-man which is just really funny to me.  And while the cover looks interesting enough, I think I’m going to try and get the variant as I think it looks really funny with all the mutants around Spider-man and the little Bamfs everywhere (the miniature Nightcrawler-looking things) as I always found those things to be kinda cute.

Overall I’m really excited for this title and it may just be the most exciting thing happening this December (besides Christmas of course).  The previews we’ve gotten looks cute and hilarious, and it gives me a chance to jump onto an X-Men title sense I’ve fallen behind on them.

 

End Poll

So what is your opinion on this upcoming series?  Love it?  Hate it?  Don’t have an opinion yet?

Leave a Reply

