My Top 10 Most Anticipated Future Films

Announcements

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So I made a mistake last week when I said this week would be the Halloween because I had a Halloween Party this Friday and confused it with Halloween.  So this week, I’m going to do this week and next Friday (Halloween) I’ll post my Top 10 Scariest Comic Book Characters (as usual, DC and Marvel only).  If you have a suggestion for next weeks post, leave it in the comments below or on my Facebook page.

So a while back I posted my opinions on some of DC and Marvel’s future films that were announced at the time, but there has been a lot of new movies announced sense then (so far we have over 30 announced movies up to 2020).  So these are the ten I’m really looking forward to.

To see my other Top 10s (or 5s) click here.

 

Rulez

  • DC and Marvel only
  • These are the films that I personally am excited for
  • Warning: There may or may not be slight spoilers, but no major ones as these movies haven’t even came out yet so I have no knowledge that can really ruin the movie for you.  The worst the spoilers are going to get is what characters will appear in the movies but they’ll probably be in the commercials so…
  • I am getting my information for the movies here so check the site out of you want to see other movies coming out

 

#10 – Shazam (April 5, 2019)

Shazam

Shazam is a really cool DC character because, for those of you who don’t know, Shazam (previously known as Captain Marvel but got his name changed for obvious legal reasons) is actually just a 10-year old boy named Billy Batson who is able to turn into the 30-year old superhero form Shazam by saying the magical word…”Shazam”, and gaining the abilities of six mythical beings (Solomon, Hercules, Atlas, Zeus, Achilles, and Mercury, hence “Shazam”).  Due to being a 10-year old in a 30-year old body, this character is quite immature and humorous so I expect this to by a more humorous movie.

For more information on Shazam, click here.

 

#9 – Suicide Squad (August 5, 2016)

Suicide Squad

We go from a humorous movie to a pretty dark movie.  I’m not exactly sure which team they’ll base it off but I’m hoping Harley Quinn and Deadshot is in this because those two are cool.  For those of you who don’t know, the Suicide Squad is a group of Villains and Anti-Heroes that are blackmailed by the government to do certain tasks.  How are they being blackmailed?  They have a mini-bomb in the back of their necks that can go off whenever they do something they’re not suppose to.  Which is why they’re called the Suicide Squad as it’s extremely difficult to survive being in the squad and most people who are selected dies.  As a result, the team members are constantly changing so it’s kind of hard to figure out which team they’re going to base it on.

For more information on the Suicide Squad, click here.

 

#8 – Cyborg (April 3, 2020)

Cyborg actually surprised me for a new movie because I only know Cyborg from the Teen Titans and the Justice League.  So while most of these movies I can guess on what they’re going to do, I have no idea what a movie focusing on only Cyborg will be about.  I tried to google “Cyborg villains” but I kept getting Teen Titan villains that he fought.  Most movies I can come up with a story they can do, like I know what I would do for a Teen Titans movie, or a Static Shock movie, or even a Batman Beyond movie.  But a Cyborg movie?  I have no guesses nor ideas for what it’ll be about after they introduce the origin story.  Well considering this will be out in 6 years from now I guess I’ll have to wait a while to get my answer.

 

#7 – Aquaman (July 27, 2018)

Aquaman Meme

This was one of the movies I mentioned in a previous list.  I can’t wait to see how they do this.  I can just imagine how they’ll show Atlantis and all the underwater adventures that can happen.  All I can say is after seeing this meme, I can’t wait to see what they’ll do to this underrated and actually BA character.

 

#6 – Wonder Woman (June 23, 2017)

Wonder Woman

Yes!  Wonder Woman FTW!  I heard somewhere that WB is trying to get a female director to direct this movie and that makes me pretty excited.  Like I said in a previous post, the way superheros work (which I really hate FYI) is that guy superheroes are “superheroes” while girl superheroes are “girl superheroes”.  They’ve made female-led superhero movies before and they all majorly failed, but I think that’s mostly because they spend too much time worrying about the gender of the main character and not about the movie.  Which is probably why why are only just getting a Wonder Woman movie, with a female superhero so iconic, everyone’s afraid of messing her up.  I’m not saying a guy can’t direct a good female-led superhero movie, but most guys are probably going to over think this.

 

#5 – The Flash (March 23, 2018)

The Flash (Wally West)

I’ve been watching The Flash on the CW and so far, it’s really good.  And while I know this movie will have nothing to do with the television series, the fact that they’re doing the Flash with the budget of a movie rather than the budget of a TV series, they’ll probably be able to make an awesome Flash movie.

 

#4 – Green Lantern (June 19, 2020)

Power Ring

I admit, I didn’t see the 2011 Green Lantern movie but I heard it wasn’t good.  So maybe whatever problems people saw in the previous film will be fixed in this reboot.  If this was turning into a trilogy, I’ll probably have the first movie have Atrocitus as the main bad guy but introduce Sinestro as a Green Lantern.  Then in the 2nd movie, do Parallax and during these two films keep hinting at an alternate motive that Sinestro have.  Then have Sinestro become a Yellow Lantern in the third movie and be the hardest enemy of the three as he’s the Green Lanterns main enemy.  Of course I don’t know much about Parallax and just know him from a review of the 2011 Green Lantern movie so Parallax might be stronger than Sinestro but that’s my two cents.

 

#3 – Captain America 3 (May 6, 2016)

Civil War Marvel

So Robert Downey Jr. has been confirmed to appear in the third Captain American movie ans rumors has it that this starts off the Civil War storyline that was in the comics.  You read that correctly my fellow superhero lovers, they are bringing Civil War to the big screen.  I’m not sure how they’re going to do it considering that Sony has all film rights to Spider-man and Fox has all rights towards the X-Men, but if they can pull this off then maybe this will probably be the focus on Avengers 3.

And now I just went on and on about this and those of you who don’t read comics has no idea what I’m talking about.  So let me educate you guys, during Marvel’s Civil War storyline superheroes find themselves at opposite ends of the Superhero Registration Act where a superhero’s identity must be public.  Iron Man is for the act and Captain America is against it and so there’s an outright war over whether secret identities amongst superheroes should be illegal or not.

 

#2 – Avengers: Age of Ultron (May 2, 2015)

OK, so this one will be more of a review of the trailer as I was originally going to just review the trailer in a different post but since we’re talking about it, why not?  But before I review this monster, if you don’t know who Ultron is then you should probably click here and watch Watchmojo.com’s 5 minute video explaining Ultron’s origins as I’m not going to explain who he is in this review and you definitely need to know him in order to understand what the heck I’m talking about.

With that said, I absolutely love this trailer.  Jame’s Spader did a great job with voicing Ultron and I could not appreciate it more.  It’s obvious that this movie is going to take a slightly darker than the first movie but I’m fine with that as long as they keep the humor that made the first movie such the success it was.  I also loved watching Iron Man in his Hulk Buster suit fighting the Hulk.  We haven’t seen much of Vision yet, but he’s probably going to be just as awesome.  On one more final note: Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch: YES!

 

#1 – X-Men: Apocalypse (May 27, 2016)

Apocalypse

Yes, I personally am more excited over the second X-Men movie then the second Avengers movie.  I’m probably in the minority here, but this is my list and being the huge X-Men fan that I am I can’t wait to see Apocalypse and what they do with him.  Being the first mutant in history and the most powerful, Apocalypse has quite a few abilities including: the ability to manipulate his own molecules, immortality, teleportation, the ability to manipulate technology, telekinesis and telepathy, healing factor, high intelligence, and high amounts of strength.  So this guy’s obviously a really powerful mutant, and he also believes that the weak should be killed.  Meaning all humans, and even some mutants, are seen as beings that needs to die in his eyes.  So I honestly can’t wait to see this move, especially after how much I loved Days of Future Past.

For more information on Apocalypse, click here.

 

Ending Poll

So last week a posted a poll and then I though maybe I should start putting polls up on my blog for the fun of it.  These polls will probably either have something to do with the post it’s on or the next week’s post.  So today’s poll is: who do you think will have the better movies: DC or Marvel?

One comment

Leave a Reply

