My Top 10 Favorite Batman Villains

Announcements

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So I sense Gotham has just aired its second episode last week, I figured I should talk about my personal favorite Batman villains.  Now sense I know Batman a lot better than I know Spider-man, this will make things easier.  When I did my Spider-man villains list, I barley could make 10.  But let’s get to the list!

To see my other Top 10s (or 5s) click here.

Rulez

  • Must be a Batman villain
  • Banning Joker as he’s the obvious No. 1 (if you don’t like this rule then make Joker number 1 and turn this into a top 11 list)
  • These are my personal favorites, not necessarily most iconic nor popular

 

Honorable Mentions

-Bane

-Riddler

-Clayface

-Black Mask

-Mad Hatter

 

#10 – Man-Bat

Man-Bat

What happens when you take the “man” in Batman and put it at the front?  You get Man-Bat.  Man-Bat is pretty similar to Spider-man’s enemy the Lizard as they where both scientists who was looking for a cure to something by means of animal DNA and ended up turning themselves into monsters.  Now the only reason Lizard made number 2 and Man-Bat is only number 10 is simply because I know the Lizard better.  Either way, we got a Man-Bat for Batman.

 

#9 – Scarecrow

Scarecrow

Scarecrow is a cool villain as Dr. Johnathan Crane (the person beneath the mask) is actually quite scrawny and not that threatening.  But after tons of research, he developed a special gas dubbed the “fear-toxin” that makes anyone who breathes it hallucinate their worst fears.  For example, if your afraid of heights and you breathe in the gas, you hallucinate falling from great heights.  Definitely a villain made for Batman.

 

#8 – Poison Ivy

poison ivy

Poison Ivy is a really interesting villain because her goals aren’t actually that evil.  Her main motive is that man kind has destroyed the homes of plants and he wants to give plants back their home by-wait for it-killing all of human kind.  Now I’ve noticed that there seems to be two versions of Ivy and you can see this a lot more when you compare the cartoons Batman: TAS and The Batman as both of these uses the different versions of Poison Ivy.  I noticed that in Batman: TAS, they tend to use the Poison Ivy who just want to do evil things by controlling men with her pheromone kisses, or The Batman version who wants to help plants by replacing humans with plants.  While I find it weird that they turned her into a teenager, I do like The Batman version better as I always loved her more in the comics when she’s all Eco-friendly.

 

#7 – Penguin

Penguin

The Penguin and Kingpin are both rather similar if you think about it as their both kind of follows into this “gentlemen of crime” sort of title.  What’s really interesting about Penguin is that he’s not just straight up evil, he just makes really, really bad choices.  In fact there are several times in the comics where he actually tries to give up evil and turn to a better person…only to go back to crime latter on.

 

#6 – Catwoman

Catwoman

Similar to Posion Ivy, Catwoman has always had a thing for animals (vs plants) and wants to do things that helps animals (are there any guy villains who are pro-environment?).  But the main reason she’s such an interesting character is because she’s the on-again, off-again love interest to Batman himself.  There are times where she commits a crime just for Batman to show up.  The dynamic of these two are just really fun to read (are we sure these two aren’t the dynamic duo?).

 

#5 – Ra’s al Ghul

Ra's al Ghul

The relationship between Ra’s al Ghul and Batman is a very interesting one.  Ra’s al Ghul has lived for hundreds of years to due constantly submerging himself in the Lazarus Pit (a magical pit that gives you back your youth).  As a result, Ra’s has learned many things and is very smart.  He has trained Bruce Wayne how to fight as he hoped he would become his protege to eliminate crime by killing those who has committed them.  Obviously sense he wants to kill criminals and Batman refuses to kill, this causes conflict between the two.  Ra’s al Ghul even knows Bruce Wayne is Batman but keeps it a secret, now that’s good sportsmanship.

 

#4 – Killer Croc

Killer Croc

Killer Croc is just really cool.  Honestly, I can’t think of anything specific to talk about him.  I liked his The Batman design but not his Batman TAS version…  He’s part crocodile…   He’s strong…   Ugh, let’s just skip him.

 

#3 – Two-Face

Two-Face

I’ve always found Two-Face to be a really complicated character as after half his body was mutilated by having acid poured over it, he went insane and turned to a life of crime.  He always makes his important decisions by flipping a coin, making this character unpredictable.

 

#2 – Mr. Freeze

Mr. Freeze

Despite the goofy name (at least, I find it kind of goofy), Mr. Freeze is a really sympathetic villain and has a sad back story.  As a child, Victor Fries was sent to a boring school and had troubles with other children.  These fights would end when he meets the love of his life and eventually gets married to her.  The marriage was short lived as she became diagnosed with a deadly disease.  Victor would then freeze her in ice as to preserve her long enough to find a cure to her disease.  He was eventually discovered, and as the cops tried to stop him an accident occurred and freezed everything in the lab.  Surviving the experience, he soon learned that the accident prevented him from living outside sub-zero temperatures.  This sad background really makes Mr. Freeze much moire relatable and synpathetic.  Heck, he’s even stopped in the middle of crimes he has committed realizing that his wife would not approve of what he’s doing and has often begged forgiveness to his wife after committing these crimes.

 

#1 – Harley Quinn

Harley Quinn

Well, if Joker is banned from the list then I guess Harley Quinn would be my favorite villain.  Harley Quinn is a weird character as the whole reason she exists is because she fell in love with the Joker, the one person you’d think not even a mother could love.  Harley Quinn was introduced to fans by the Batman: TAS cartoon and has been around ever sense.  While going through changes over the last two decades she’s been around, shes really ids an interesting character and her comics a really hilarious.  While she may not be as scary as the Joker, she is still just as insane.  She’s just one of those characters where it’s hard to explain what you like about her but you do like her.

 

2 comments

  1. Thanks for visiting my site. I’m clicking you on my favorites list so I can check in from time to time. I kept my comic book influenced vision of Christianity secret for a long time because I knew a lot of people would never understand. I also knew it would be tough to explain and I wasn’t sure if I could. But I’ve had a change of heart and I’m just putting it out there and see what happens? I think your site can help me stay up on things as I do not do a lot of comic book reading anymore. I’m very specific in what I still read. As a young man I read a lot and loved it. I like what you got going here and I’ll check in from time to time. Batman is still one of my favorites, if the artwork is good.

    1. That’s really cool. I am also a Christian comic book reader and so I can see why you wouldn’t want to share something like that. I’m ok with people knowing that I’m a christian and as long as I respect that other people don’t share my beliefs I don’t think there’s anything wrong with people knowing.

      And thanks for checking out my blog! Hope I don’t disappoint XD

Leave a Reply

