My Opinion on DC and Marvel’s Future Movies

Future Marvel and DC Movies, chart from IGN

Future Marvel and DC Movies, chart from IGN

Announcements

Hello interweb, Nate here.  Now your probably looking at that rather long chart and wondering: “Why you haz big chart?”.  Well, this chart of future Marvel and DC movies was made a while ago, and I have been meaning to talk about it but I haven’t had time til just now.  Just to be clear, I’m not going to discuss every movie on this chart as that would probably take an hour to read, but I am going to go over the movies I have a strong opinion towards.  So I’m going to start with Marvel, because frankly DC is really scaring me here, and just talk about some movies that are coming out.

 

Marvel

Avengers: Age of Ultron (May 1, 2015)

The Avengers was the number one best selling movie of 2012 and for good reasons.  Marvel was smart to release a Captain America movie, a Hulk movie, Iron Man movies, and Thor movies before creating the Avenger as this allowed Marvel to establish their cinematic universe as well as giving these characters their own movies to grow and develop without feeling pressured into giving each character’s back stories and develop each of them in 2 and a half hours (take notes, this s going to be important for when I talk about Batman Vs Superman).  For those of you who doesn’t want anything to be spoiled (like me) you (and I) probably haven’t seen any trailers or news relating to this movie.  All I really know is that Ultron’s the villain (oh really?  I though it was Dr. Doom), and Quicksilver and Vision is going to be introduced in this movie (hopefully no one counts that as a spoiler, the only reason I know about Vision is that a friend told me).  Since I have no idea what the plot is going to be or anything, I can’t say whether or not I think this movie will be just as good as the first, but I have high hopes and expectations.

 

Fantastic Four (June 19, 2014) and Fantastic Four 2 (July 14, 2017)

I remember when I was a kid I saw Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer but I don’t remember much about that movie (I never saw the first one).  So the fact that they’re rebooting the series is kind of exciting.

 

X-Men: Apocalypse (May 27, 2016)

OMG, what can I say about this.  First off, I loved X-Men: Days of Future Past as that was (sadly) my first X-Men movie and it did not disappoint (I have heard by people who has seen the first trilogy that it’s probably the best thus far).  But now they’re bringing in Apocalypse!  I’m sorry, but if this trilogy started out with the Days of Future Past storyline and is followed up by Apocalypse, than I’m not sure if I want to watch the original trilogy.  X-Men is my absolute favorite superhero team (yes, I like them more than the Avengers, Justice League, and Fantastic Four put together) and my first X-Men trilogy is really good, than I’ll die happy XD

 

Female Led Spider-man movie (2017)

Alright, I just want to say this.  When I made my Amazing Spider-man 2 Review, I was being nice.  Because if I gave my honest opinion… … …the only Spider-man movie I disliked more was Spider-man 3.  Honestly, I felt that The Amazing Spider-man 2 was just a cash-grab, and a way for Sony to keep their rights to the character.  But with a female led Spider-man movie, I see this going to ways.

Sexualized Spider-moman1) Now DC and Marvel are sexist, I wish I didn’t need to admit that but they are.  When it comes to male superheroes, they’re “Superheroes”, but if it’s a female superhero, it’s a “female superhero”.  You get what I’m saying?  I know of two female-led superhero movies: Elektra and Catwoman.  I don’t know about Elektra, but I have heard that Catwoman is one of, if not the, worst superhero movie ever.  So this could turn into a Sony cash-grab, female-led, keep rights to Spider-man by making more movies movie.

or 2) If they treat this as more of a superhero movie led by a female character and less of a female-superhero movie (see the difference?) than this could turn into a very good superhero movie with a great female role-model and focus on the fact that she’s a superhero vs a female superhero.  Because that’s when I feel this stuff failing, when they emphasize the fact that the main character is a girl vs a man.  And considering that Marvel has recently shown a cover of  Spider-woman like this, I’m kind of nervous about this movie.

 

DC

DC is honestly scaring me with their movies because they are trying to do with their movies what Marvel did with theirs, and it doesn’t sound like it’s going well.  First off, I did not like Man of Steel at all.  That was not Superman, that was not a Superman movie, and it was just bad in my honest opinion.  And by what I’ve heard about Batman Vs Superman, they are trying to get the back story and origin of all the Justice League members (including Batman, Wonder Woman, Martian Manhunter, Aquaman, Flash, and Cyborg) as well as the league itself in this movie.  The Avengers worked because they have already established their cinematic universe, while here they are trying to establish the universe in this one movie.  I think it’s going to end up as one big mess that DC is going to struggle to clean up.

 

Well their you have it guys, tell me your opinions in the comments below and I’ll see you guys Friday, Peace XD

6 comments

  1. Can you maybe do a character bio on ant man and wasp (as she is most likely going to be in it to.) I love these guys and having a movie with them is awesome but with their powers it going to be super awesome.

Leave a Reply

