30 Follower Special – My Top 10 Favorite DC Superheroes

Announcements

Hello interweb, Nate here.  So I just hit 30 followers so while it might not be that impressive, it is a milestone I never reached with my previous blog.  So today I have two posts planned for you guys: My Top 10 Favorite Marvel Superheroes and My Top 10 Favorite DC Superheroes.  So let’s not waist anymore time and get to the list!

 

Rulez

  • Must be a superhero owned by DC (duh)
  • These are my personal favorites, which means that these aren’t necessarily the most iconic nor best

 

#10 – Green Lantern (Hal Jordan)

Green Lanturn (Hal Jordan)

We’re kicking off this list with a biggie.  I really like the Green Lantern Corps (Yes corps, there are thousands of Green Lanterns, not just one) and the concept of the power rings always intrigued me.  I think it’s cool how they can create anything from willpower alone (does that include edible things like food?  I really want to know!).  I chose Hal Jordan specifically because the only two Green Lanterns I know well is Hal Jordan and John Stewart and I find Hal Jordan is a lot funnier.

 

#9 – Stephanie Brown

Stephanie Brown as Spoiler (left), Batgirl (center), and Robin (Right).  Source

Stephanie Brown as Spoiler (left), Batgirl (center), and Robin (Right)

The first of the Bat Family on this list, I was first introduced to this character by a YouTube channel called ItsSuperEffective who does videos mostly relating to comics but he also has some video games and anime stuff on there.  After watching his History of Stephanie Brown video, I went to check out more about this character and she’s really fun and pretty interesting.  She’s also been a Robin and a Batgirl and has also been her own hero named Spoiler.  There’s a lot of controversy around this character as Batman always keeps the costumes of his previous sidekick and there is no Stephanie Brown costume as DC has stated that she wasn’t technically ever a Robin, which is making a lot of fans pretty upset.

 

#8 – Flash (Wally West)

The Flash (Wally West)

Super speed has always been one of my favorite superpowers. I always thought how cool it’ll be to go so fast that time seems to slow down completely.  That’s why I like the Flash so much, his speed always fascinated me and I always thought it’ll be cool to run at hypersonic speeds.  Wally West is my personal favorite Flash mainly because he’s just a lot funnier in my opinion.

 

#7 – Cyborg

Cyborg.  Source

I always thought robots where cool (Red Tornado barely made the cut) and when I saw the Teen Titans cartoon on Cartoon Network and saw that they had a cyborg on their team, I was hooked.  Cyborg was my favorite character when the show first started just because of that fact and while some other titan went past him on my favorites, he is still pretty awesome.  It’s also cool how he got graduated from Teen Titan to Justice League in New 52.

 

#6 – Beast Boy

Beast Boy

Introduce me to this character when I was a kid (well, younger kid); check, Make him green and funny; check, make his superpower animal morphing; check, alright I can say that this guy is definitely a childhood favorite that stayed til today.  I was introduced to BB with the TT cartoon just like Cyborg, and sense I really like animals he quickly became my favorite Titan before season 4 (fans of the show knows what I’m talking about).  although seriously, he’s a green kid who turns into animals, whats not to love?

 

#5 – Batgirl (Barbra Gordan)

Batgirl

I was first introduced to Batgirl when I was around 8 with the cartoon The Batman.  Well I knew about the character before that show, I just didn’t know much about her.  Barbra Gordan has always been a very interesting character and an important staple to the Bat Family.  I always found it cool how she was the daughter of Commissioner Gordan.

 

#4 – Nightwing

Nightwing

Dick Grayson was the very first Robin and as such became a very popular character.  Of course he wasn’t going to stay young forever (this isn’t Neverland) and thus retired being the Boy Wonder to become Nightwing, upping the cool factor a few notches.  As Nightwing, he does a lot of the same things as Batman only he tends to be a lot more acrobatic during fights (he grew up in a circus, what do you expect?).  I also liked how is parents died when he was young just like Bruce Wayne so Bruce could relate to Dick.

 

#3 – Static

Static.  Source

Static.  Source

Static has always been one of my favorite superheroes, marvel or DC, and I feel that he is a very underrated superhero.  Other than the cartoon he had in the early 2000s, he really isn’t talked about much and it’s a real shame.  Everything about this character is really interesting from his unique powers, to what he represents.  Static wasn’t actually an original DC superhero and was created by Dwayne McDuffie for Milestone Media, a business ran by a team of African-American people who wanted better representation of minorities in comics.  I really liked that they did that and when Milestone Media ended, they sold their rights for Static to DC and ever sense we’ve had a great character that I wish got more popularity than he has.

 

#2 – Raven

Raven

And yet another hero that the Teen Titans cartoon made me love.  Whoever is a fan of the Teen Titans cartoon show and has seen the Trigon Arc of the 4th season knows that Raven is a really deep and interesting character.  She was born from a human mother and a demon father named Trigon and Trigon made it Raven’s prophecy to be the portal for Trigon to come and take over Earth.The way the story plays out was really interesting and it just made Raven the most popular character on the show.

 

#1 – Batman

Batman

Yes, Batman, the Dark Knight and defender of Gotham.  It seems to me that Superman and Batman is in this fight to see who’s the greatest DC superhero.  My vote goes for Batman, he’s darker, he’s human, has has one of the greatest rogues galleries, and he’s more interesting.  Batman admittingly wasn’t always my favorite superhero, I didn’t even care for him when I was younger due to the lack of superpowers.  But the fact that he doesn’t have any superpower yet can go toe-to-toe with the closest things to gods in the DC universe is really impressive.  Now I won’t say he’s invincible, if it was a fair fight, he should lose to the likes of Superman any day.  But it’s not because he’s invincible is the reason I like him (because he’s not) but because he 1. decided to practice martial arts and detective skills for years to protect people’s lives even though he has no superhuman abilities and 2. fight’s extremely dangerous psychopaths on a daily basis.

 

So what do you guys think?  Do you like my list?  Hate it?  What would be on your team.  Don’t forget to check out my Marvel list as well as my poll for the next Character Bio.  Peace XD

6 comments

Leave a Reply

